Showing posts with label Andover Historical Society. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Andover Historical Society. Show all posts

Wednesday, October 15, 2014

Abby/Abbie Cummings Locke Splendid Days Journal Andover MA

The Andover Historical Society has blogged the journal of Abby Locke, daughter of Samuel B Locke and Anne H Davis Locke. Very interesting and informative for the time period.  Andover Historical Society and the Blanchard House Blog  Samuel Blake Locke (Simeon Simeon, David, Jonathan, William, Capt John, Thomas) born Sept 30 1822 married April 28 1846 Anne H Davis of Newmarket, NH. Children born Samuel and Anne Anna Louise and Abbie Cummings m Denney Thompson
Abby's Home on 70 Elm Street Andover MA From Andover Historic Preservation
Shortly after General Washington's inauguration he made a tour of the Eastern States visiting Andover on his return from New Hampshire on his way from Haverhill to Lexington His visit to Andover is thus described by the biographer of Judge Phillips Thursday morning November 5th he drove early to Andover and breakfasted at Deacon Isaac Abbot's tavern in the house now owned by Hon Amos Abbot Here as he stood in front of the house some of our most aged citizens remember to have seen him aged.

While tarrying here he asked the little daughter of Deacon Abbot to mend his riding glove for him and when she had done it took her upon his knee and gave her a kiss which so elated Miss Priscilla that she would not allow her face to be washed again for a week General Washington was the guest of Judge Phillips at the mansion house where he met some of the principal citizens He received the salutations of the people as he sat on horseback on the common near the mansion house From Andover he went to Lexington by way of Billerica This visit to Andover General Washington himself briefly described in his journal
Thursday November 1789 About sunrise I set out crossing the Merrimack river at the town over to the township of Bradford and in nine miles came to Abbot's tavern Andover where we breakfasted and met with much attention from Mr Phillips President of the Senate of Massachusetts who accompanied us through Billarike to Lexington where I dined and viewed the spot on which the first blood was spilt in the dispute with Great Britain on the 19th of April 1775
General Washington remarked on the beautiful scenery and fine cultivation of the country.
After breakfast the President was conducted by Mr Phillips to his mansion on the hill in the southeast parlor of which he was introduced to Madam Phillips and familiarly entertained by herself the Judge and their children for half an hour or so The moment her distinguished visitor left the room the courtly madam tied a piece of ribbon upon the chair he had occupied during the interview and there it remained ever afterwards until the day of his death when she substituted for it a band of crepe The people gathered in large numbers on the green before the Mansion House to gaze upon the face and form of the man who had earned the title Father of his Country To gratify this laudable and affectionate curiosity of the people the President mounting his horse rode upon the green and there received the hearty greetings of the crowd of men women and children after which he departed for Lexington attended by Judge Phillips and a cavalcade of citizens The tavern where Washington took breakfast became thus a place of note and still continues an object interest to the inquisitive. From History Essex County Volume 2, D H Hurd
Samuel B Locke Democrat, of Andover, is in the iron and foundry business, and is head of the firms of Samuel B. Locke & Co., of Boston, and Locke & Co., Somerville. He was born in Deerfield, N. H., in 1822, and received his education in the South Newmarket Academy. Committees : Towns; Waters; Drainage. Residence, Andover, Mass. From An Introduction to Natural Philosophy: Designed as a Text Book for the Use of the Students in Yale College. On October 29, 1874, Abby married T. Dennie Thomson. In 1920, as an old woman, she dictated memoirs to her son, Philip Thomson. Also preserved is a business card of her father, Samuel B. Locke, “Dealers in American and Scotch Pig Iron.” From Abby Cummings Locke Papers
The Donald Family of Andover (1860 c.) Abby's friend Willie is the boy in the center with the light-colored bow tie. (Andover Historical Society photograph) Link to Journal entry on from Blanchard House 

From February 20, 1864 Lowell Daily Citizen and News (Lowell, MA)

Marriage: Abbie Cummings m Denney Thompson

From Boston Herald January 26 1909 Abby's sister Death

From September 1 1926 Abby's mother Death

Abbott Family Genealogy
Footloose in Andover: Teen's Civil War-era diary brought to life at library
Early Records of Cummings Family 
History of Newfields, New Hampshire, 1638-1911 By James Hill Fitts

Friday, July 25, 2014

The Berry's of Andover Andover Townsman Historical Series

Looking into the Berry family in Andover I found some interesting info in Dr. Daniel Berry and his wife Susan Farnham Berry. Here is a little earler background from Andover history.
Berry Pond Andover MA 
The "Berry House"; the Blunt tavern in the time of the Revolution; afterwards owned by Ezra Holt Captain Isaac Blunt brought home the elm tree when a sapling and set it out here about 1790. (Miss Dora S. Berry's, Salem Street.) From
Publisher: Phillips Academy
Date: 1890
Description: Berry House was the final name for what had been Blunt Tavern, built sometime before 1765 by Captain Isaac Blunt. Blunt had a son who was one of the first thirteen students at Phillips Academy in 1778. Three generations of Blunts lived in the house until it was sold to Mr. Holt who in turn quickly sold it to the Berry family. This date also places the Tavern/Inn in the Berry Family hands. Green was the color of the day as well in the 1930's as it is today. When the house came down the floor boards were reused in another house.
Subject: Phillips Academy -- Buildings
Citation : "Blunt Tavern in the 1890's," in NOBLE Digital Heritage, Item #16259, (accessed July 25, 2014).
Dr Daniel Berry b. 7 Feb 1777 in Andover, MA d. July 1851 in St. Louis. His wife, Susan Farnham Berry b. 1784 in Andover d. July 1851 in St. Louis. Dr Berry graduated Harvard 1806
Listings of Berry Graves Andover MA 
From History of Nashville, Tenn
Nashville Female Academy was chartered in 1817, Dr. Daniel Berry serving as principal. August 4, 1817, the Nashville Female Academy was opened, with Dr. Daniel Berry and wife, of Massachusetts, as principals. A charter was granted by the legislature on the 3d of the following October. The charter appointed a board of seven trustees—Robert White, Robert Searcy, Felix Grundy, John L. Erwin, John Baird, Joseph T. Elliston, and James Trimble— who were to act until the first Monday in January, when they were to give way to a new board of seven trustees chosen by the stockholders of the academy. Thereafter once a year a new board appointed in the same way was to supplant the old one. Dr. Berry and his wife severed their connection with the academy in July, 1819, and were succeeded by Rev. William Hume. The Nashville Female Academy was one of the first institutions of its kind in the United States. A number of gentlemen associated themselves together for the purpose of its establishment early in 1816. 

For the use of the proposed academy, these gentlemen, on the 4th of July, 1816, purchased three acres of land of David McGavock, the land lying on the south side of the town, and costing $1,500. Contracts were entered into for building part of the academy house, which was ready for occupancy in July, 1817. On the 2d of this month the trustees of the academy announced that they had at length succeeded in securing suitable teachers for this school, from which so much was expected (and from which so much was realized). The teachers selected were Dr. Daniel Berry and his wife, of Salem, Mass., who were recommended by some of the leading citizens of that State as possessing superior qualifications. Dr. Berry and lady, the trustees said, had arrived, and their bearing and manner had very highly and favorably impressed the trustees, who were happy to add their approbation to that of the citizens of Massachusetts.

The second session of this academy commenced February 2, 1818, under the direction of Dr. Berry and his wife. Mr. Leroy was professor of music, and was assisted by his wife and her sister. There were in attendance at that term one hundred and eighty students. Miss Gardette, of Philadelphia, and Miss Payson, of Portsmouth, N. H., were engaged as " auxiliary tutoresses," in May, 1818. The semi-annual examination of this school, July 13 and 14, 1818, was attended by a large number of citizens, including the trustees.
The third session of this school commenced August 12, 1818, and closed December 19 following, and was still under the care and supervision of Dr. Berry and his wife. The number of students was one hundred and eighty-six. On Monday, January 4, 1819, Robert Whyte, Felix Grundy, James Trimble, John P. Erwin, Joseph T. Elliston, William Hume, and Oliver B. Hayes were elected trustees. Robert Whyte was again elected President; John P. Erwin, Secretary; and Joseph T. Elliston, Treasurer. The fourth session commenced January 17, 1819, and closed June 25, Dr. Berry and wife still in charge, assisted by Miss
Payson, Miss Carl, Miss Owen, and Mrs. Jane Maney. The number of students received was two hundred and eighteen.

In July, 1819, Dr. Berry and wife retired from connection with the academy, and on the 23d of August John P. Erwin resigned his position as trustee, and was followed by Thomas Claiborne. Mr. Claiborne was appointed Secretary. On the 2d of December, 1819, James Trimble resigned, and John P. Erwin was elected a trustee in his stead. Felix Grundy resigned, and Thomas Crutcher was elected a trustee in his stead. Thomas Claiborne resigned, and Alfred Balch was elected a trustee in his stead. John P. Erwin was elected Secretary. The fifth session commenced July 19, 1819, and closed on the 23d of December. Rev. William Hume was principal as the successor of Dr. Berry, and was assisted by Miss Payson, Miss Carl, Miss Childs, Miss Stearns, Miss Owen, and Mrs. Maney. The number of students received that term was one hundred and thirty-seven.

More @ Tennessee Historical Quarterly
Tennessee Historical Quarterly, Volumes 19-20
Higher Ed in Tenn

[St. Louis; Dr. Daniel Berry; Completed; Beyond; Live]
Date: Thursday, August 7, 1851
Paper: Salem Register (Salem, MA) 

article no. 125 published July 29, 1904 Andover Historical Society

The earliest records spell the name Berry and Barry, but always Berry by those who knew how to spell, and it was perhaps pronounced variously. The ancestor of (1) Thaddeus Berry of Lynn, Rumney Marsh (Chelsea) and Boston. His estate was divided between the children in 1718, record in Boston. The eldest son, John, of Wenham (near Danvers line) looked after mother Hannah, and had brothers (2) Samuel, Thomas and Daniel, sisters Elizabeth, wife of Joseph Townsend, Hannah, wife of Edmond Needham, Sarah, wife of Thomas Stockton, Rebecca, wife of William Bassett, and Abigail, of John Bassett, Jerusha of Ebenezer Merriam, while the inevitable spinster of the family, (2) Mehitabel, closed the list in 1720.
We must follow the fortunes of (2) John in a limited paper like this. His mother was Hannah Farrar, daughter of Thomas and Elizabeth of Lynn. Bodge gives the record of Thaddeus in "King Philip's War", 1676, in Col. John Whipple's Company, that was credited to Lynn, and as a soldier grantee in the award to Narragansett fight men, his claims lay in Buxton, Maine, in 1735, and were taken by John Mitchell and Mary Mitchell and Ambrose Berry, whose connection with Thaddeus, whether of blood of "commercial" I have not traced.
 The wife of (2) John Berry, of Wenham, was Rachel, whose family has not yet been stumbled upon. He moved into Danvers about 1709, when he appears upon the minister's tax, and in some depositions of 1719 said he was of Wenham 26 years before. In 1722 he had returned to Wenham, apparently buying a large estate for 540L in Salem of Edward Fuller, the village blacksmith, near the Boxford line. This estate was a little later set off to the present town of Middleton, where, in 1727, he divided 60L in value of Fuller land to four sons (said land lying near their own) - (3) Samuel, (3) Ebenezer, (3) Ben. The land at Chelsea had been sold by father (2) John to his brother (2) Thomas as most of the second generation remained in the vicinity of Boston, while the line of (2) John built the town of Middleton.
   There were other prominent Berrys in the colony, besides the line of Thaddeus. Newbury and other towns had lines which will probably be taken up in July issue of the Essex Antiquarian. Mariners and traders abound, but Thaddeus and his descent were plain farmers for years, till intermarriage changed the bent. Some of the Berrys elsewhere were prominent as physicians. Barnstable County had many early like Richard, Edmond and Anthony, and the connection between these emigrants may be placed sometime by research abroad. Capt. Thomas Berry, of Boston, who died on the voyage from Jamaica in 1685, buried at sea, left an only son who was a Harvard graduate, married the president's daughter, and left a son, Col. Tom, a physician of note, ancestor of the late Henry Dutch Lord, a genealogist, who did very good work on Berry lines.
   (3) Joseph Berry, whose first wife Sarah, has escaped us, was the first to enter Andover records. Rebecca, daughter of Thomas Farnum and Hannah Hutchinson, married Obadiah Holt in 1726, and in 1739 he died up on the Kennebec in camp, perhaps on a prospecting or trading trip. Whether his family had ever lived there, or whether Joseph Berry was a companion, I did not discover, but in 1742, Joseph, having lost Sarah, annexed the widow Rebecca Holt and her Holt tribe to his band of Berrys and they raised one half brother (4) John Berry, born 1743, who married Eunice Howe and lived around Boxford way in 1773. This record in Andover is somewhat broken. Joseph, born 1726, (4) Sarah 1727, (4) Hannah wife of Andrew Foster, Jr., of Andover, in 1753, (4) Abigail 1733, (4) Bartholomew Nov. 3, 1734, wife Elizabeth Hayward of Reading about 1757, (4) Mary 1737, children of Sarah are all I could recover of this family. The record of (3) Ben, the other Andover ancestor, is more obscure, and I am hoping the Antiquarian may give us family records to piece out.
   Born 1709, (3) Ben married Priscilla Smith in 1736, and was then called a resident of Andover. From my own search, and notes from the Stiles' sketch of Middleton in the Essex County Standard History, I conclude he was the Ben who bought the old Samuel Farnum estate of the Andover line, near his land in Middleton. His eldest son, (4) Ben, was recorded in Middleton in 1739, married very young and seems to be in Andover with wives Mary and Phebe all before 1776. (4) Sarah, born 1758, after a long gap filled up by a son recorded without name in Andover in 1743, and (4) John both 1756, baptized in our North church, and later with a wife, Polly annexed still to be explored, are all I could find by the wife Priscilla Smith.  
In 1775 he was Capt. Ben, and married in Andover, widow Ruth Estes, whose maiden name I have not got, and a son (4) Daniel Berry, recorded in baptisms of North church, 1777, was Dr. Daniel Berry of Salem, who married Susanna Farnum, of Andover, in 1809, and a son, (4) Ebenezer, still younger, and called a minor in the probate notices of (3) Ben in 1789, was father of (5) Ebenezer Gardiner Berry of Danvers, who married Elizabeth Abbott of Andover, and the children are well known here through the relatives, Asa and Sylvester Abbott, at whose home Elizabeth was "raised". The only surviving daughter, (6) Emily Gardiner Berry, widow of John Sylvester Learoyd, spends her summers with us, and one son, (7) Charles, is a prominent young physician of Taunton. This family will probably be fully given in the Berry genealogy. 
The old and famous Berry tavern of Danvers Square was started by the (4) Ebenezer of Andover, who, according to Stiles, owned a farm where he was born, last house on North Andover line of Middleton, on the North Road, a cellar hole visible in 1880 - near railroad. This was the Farnum estate, bought by (3) Capt. Ben on a mortgage. (4) Ebenezer left this farm and was owner of the Danvers tavern. (5) Ebenezer at the age of 80 told this to Mr. Stiles, who sent it to the Townsman in Mr. Carpenter's day, when we had a regular weekly historical column. A second sketch will give the lines to date.
The People of the Eye: Deaf Ethnicity and Ancestry By Harlan Lane, Richard C. Pillard, Ulf Hedberg 
Vital Records of Andover, Massachusetts, to the End of the Year 1849

Wednesday, July 9, 2014

Sarah Abboott & Samuel Phillips Andover Academy

From the original portrait in the possession of the Academy painted by T. Buchanan Read.
The Project Gutenberg The New England Magazine, Volume 1, No. 1, January 1886
Andover Townsman, Andover, MA March 17, 2011
Andover Stories: Abbot Academy a leader in its own right for 150 years 
By Francesca Balboni
Andover Historical Society

In 1829 Abbot Academy was New England's first incorporated secondary school for girls; today few may realize it ever existed. After 1973, it joined with Phillips Academy to create one, co-educational school. But some of its striking campus remains. And more importantly, its stories remain. Through memories, yearbooks and detailed histories, one can see the adversity and triumphs endured by an all-girls school in a rapidly changing American society.
Without the influence and conservative nature of some Andover residents, a school for girls would not have been built here. To most of New England, higher education was intended for training ministers, with little use to girls. But some in Andover saw a need for female education in order to "to regulate the tempers, to improve the taste, to discipline and enlarge the minds and form the morals of youth," as Abbot's Constitution reads.
While Abbot Female Academy was founded by powerful men - reverends, deacons and bank officials - who enforced morals and ran the town, the true forces behind this venture were Andover's women who otherwise were unable to own property or vote. Perhaps these women hoped simply to improve a woman's station in society. One woman, Sarah Abbot, contributed her widow's fortune to the creation of a campus, resulting in the trustee's decision to name the school after her.
Women would prove to be the key to Abbot's success. With six male headmasters in its first 15 years, it had a shaky start. By the end of the 1850s, however, Abbot began a Golden Age under the McKeen sisters, Philena and Phebe. Under their care, Abbot Academy not only grew physically thanks to tireless fundraising, but also matured academically. Susan McIntosh Lloyd, alumna and historian, suspects that America's dismissal of women's education allowed for students at Abbot to be "free of that thralldom to the ancient college preparatory tradition which Phillips boys suffered under." 

In short, initially Abbot's curriculum, particularly in the modern languages, may have surpassed that of Phillips.During the McKeen era, students became involved with the surrounding community and national events. Even though women had few rights and were relatively cloistered socially during the Victorian years, Abbot Academy provided its students with an environment that encouraged independence and optimism about their futures. They held mock presidential elections and attended political meetings at Town Hall. Girls also heard lectures at the Theological Seminary up the hill. Abbot also welcomed many visitors who exhibited the power and brilliance of women, such as a young Helen Keller and her teacher, Anne Sullivan, and Bronson Alcott, who spoke of his daughters.

Although the McKeen sisters left Abbot in 1892, many of their traditions lived on in the practices of later headmistresses. Increasingly, Abbot faced new challenges, from prestigious women's colleges to the new prevalence of public schooling to national crises like the Great Depression and two World Wars. As more events seemed to threaten the school's future, Abbot became entrenched in its ways, isolating itself in order to keep out the waves of change. Tellingly, the only new structures erected on campus after 1910 were gates.
The level of academics remained high and the conservative nature of the school appealed to parents, but eventually something had to give. A slackening of tradition was supported by the trustees in the 1960s, which drew more students than any decade prior. In an atmosphere of student protest and change, the girls thrived on helping Abbot adapt. Although the resulting changes led to Abbot's absorption into Phillips, their source represents the true accomplishment of Abbot Academy's goal to form thoughtful and powerful young women.
"Andover Stories" is a weekly column about interesting local people and events, told in celebration the Andover Historical Society's 100 anniversary in 2011.

                                                           Picture from Jaysteeleblog
Hon. Samuel Phillips (son of Rev. Samuel Phillips), was born Feb. 13th, 1715; graduated at Harvard College 1734; died Aug. 21st, 1790. He was the eldest son and seems to have inherited in a most marked degree the mental and moral character of his predecessors. He was usually known as “Squire Phillips.”
Entering business early in life he conducted the first store in the North Parish of Andover. In 1752 he built the old dwelling house known as Phillips Manse,” occupied in later years by Phillips Brooks as his summer home. This old mansion is said to be rich in historical relics, among which are the collection of books embracing volumes which came over in the “Arbella” and are of priceless value. After his graduation in 1734 he taught the Grammar School before he engaged in business. In 1775—6 he engaged in the manufacture of powder, having built a mill at great expense, which “blew up” in 1778. In 1788 he built a paper mill. 

He was often the representative of Andover at the General Court and a member of the executive council before the Revolution, as well as a civil magistrate. His sternness of manner and precision did not contribute to his popularity. By the exercise of strict habits of economy in his business he accumulated a large estate, much of which he devoted to the public good. He founded Phillips Academy at Andover, and with his brother John another famous school (Phillips Exeter Academy) at Exeter, N. H.
His remarkable character is well illustrated in the following authentic record. When his townsmen, Col. James and Gen. Joseph Frey, returned from the taking of Louisborg in 1745, he addressed them on behalf of the citizens in words of honorable praise. Later when the Freys were blamed for their share in the destruction of the Acadian villages he defended them on the ground that “a soldier must obey orders” no matter how offensive to his feelings. During the hard winter of 1756 twenty-Six of these poor Acadians were quartered on the town, and he was the foremost in assisting them to comfortable Shelter and relief. These incidents are related here as Showing the humane instincts which dominated his life, and which revealed themselves in the later generations.
He married July 11th, 1738, Elizabeth, daughter of Theodore Barnard, of Andover. Her letters still extant, are interesting and indicate her character as that of a woman most devout, as well as of pronounced religious views. The lives of this couple are set forth in their epitaph as follows: “THIS PAIR WERE FRIENDS or ORDER IN THE FAMILY, CHURCH, AND COMMONWEALTH,EXAMPLES OF INDUSTRY AND ECONOMY, AND PATRONS OF LEARNING AND RELIGION.
”The "Old Northwest" Genealogical Quarterly, Volume 13
Archives and Special Collections Phillips Academy Andover
Academy Hill: The Andover Campus, 1778 to the Present
Samuel Phillips & Sarah Abbot Society
Life and Letters of Phillips Brooks, Volume 1 By Alexander Viets Griswold Allen
Biographical Catalogue of the Trustees, Teachers and Students of Phillips By Charles Carroll Carpenter

Wednesday, October 9, 2013

The Quakers among us: 17th and 18th centuries

Andover Townsman, Andover, MA September 19, 2013 The Quakers among us: 17th and 18th centuries Andover Stories By Kimberly Whitworth, Andover Historical Society

---- — The Quaker faith is not the first thing that comes to mind when you look out over Andover’s hills and view the many weather vane-topped church steeples dotting the landscape. Andover, along with most of the Massachusetts Bay Colony, was founded by English Puritans.

North Parish Church — as well as other churches throughout Andover and North Andover — traces its roots to the Puritans who arrived during the Great Migration of the 1630s and settled the town. And within these Puritan communities, Quakers were present.

The story of Quakers among the Puritans of Massachusetts Bay is not one of acceptance and harmony. During the 17th century, both the Quaker and Puritan movements emerged in rejection of the Church of England. But this is where similarities in the two religions end.

Quakers professed tolerance and peace toward all, believing that God could speak to people directly. In contrast, Puritans believed the Bible supplied all religious authority. This led Puritans to strive for conformity in their communities, permitting no other religious groups within the borders of Massachusetts Bay.

Quakers began arriving in Massachusetts Bay during the 1650s. They challenged the established order, interrupting church services by shouting their disagreements with Puritan ideology. According to published accounts, one Quaker woman, Lydia Wardell, took her protest so far as to fully disrobe during services in Newbury while another Quaker woman, Deborah Buffam Wilson, protested in a similar fashion by walking naked through the streets of Salem.

During this time, a number of Quakers began settling in Salem. While the Quakers in Boston seemed far away from Andover, their presence in Salem felt alarmingly close to home.

Massachusetts Bay leaders acted quickly and passed a law against the “cursed sect,” banning Quakers from the colony. This law also imposed fines against anyone bringing a Quaker to the colony and proscribed corporeal punishment against any Quaker who returned to the colony after banishment.

The first members of North Parish Church agreed with the law enacted in 1657. Andover’s early congregation believed in religious conformity and saw toleration to be evidence of a lack of faith.

Historians and writers generally view Simon and Anne Bradstreet as moderate in their views, with Simon Bradstreet often described as a “just and benevolent leader.” Nevertheless, even though no Quakers disturbed the peace in Andover, some of the church’s members were prominent in Quaker persecutions, especially Simon Bradstreet in his capacity as magistrate.

Records show that at “... court in Ipswich, and in the ministerial councils at Newbury, he was zealous against offenders.” Bradstreet’s most notable persecution was that of Nicholas Phelps, a Salem resident whose descendants later settled in Andover.

Over time, Puritans accepted the presence of Quakers, but they remained a minority in Essex County. The most notable Quaker living in Andover during the 18th century was a man named Thomas Houghton.

Houghton left a wealth of letters, some of which are housed at the Andover Historical Society. From these letters and others, we learn he emigrated from England after his paper manufacturing business failed due to a lawsuit over what he considered an unjust tax on his product.

He arrived in Andover around 1789, finding employment at a new paper mill being set up on the “Shawshin River” by Judge Samuel Phillips. Phillips did not take an active role in the business, trusting the running of it to Houghton.

Houghton’s letters speak of his economical and moral habits, both of which find their origins in Quaker teaching. It is clear he applied these teachings to his work life because the paper mill became a profitable concern within a few years. By 1795, Phillips brought Houghton on as a partner. Houghton’s son eventually succeeded him in the business.

Adding a site link from Barbara Poole Life from the Roots blog pics of Andover graves