Showing posts with label Chase. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Chase. Show all posts

Saturday, October 25, 2014

Descendants of Massachusetts Thomas Macy Line in Arlington Florida

4 Generations of Macy Blood Lines from the Florida branch L to R Theodore Macy, Anson Charles Macy , Judah Macy, and Baby is Lewis Warren Macy Information from Melanie MacLean Cross President of Old Arlington, INC  The Macy and MacLean Families

Written by Cleve Powell Originally published in the History Corner section of the August 2009 OAI Newsletter
After the Civil War, the name “Arlington” first appeared as a small development called Arlington Bluff (now Clifton) in 1873. The area considered as Arlington today has far surpassed anyone’s imagination. The “Old Arlington” historic area is bounded by Atlantic Boulevard on the south, Mill Creek and Hartsfield Roads on the east and the St. Johns River on the north and west. Before the Mathews Bridge opened in 1953 it was considered remote from Jacksonville and South Jacksonville and its early residents depended on family run enterprises such as mills, shipyards, turpentine stills (and moonshine), ferry services, farms and dairies for employment and small, family-owned stores for most of their food and supplies.
The first family industry was a water-powered mill on Strawberry Creek where Arlington Road now crosses. It opened in 1820 and remained open until about 1870. It originally belonged to the Richard family and later to John Sammis. It was unique to northeast Florida and was a combination sawmill, gristmill and cotton gin. Richard also had a brickyard nearby. Ships were built from the lumber at the head of Pottsburg Creek.
After the Civil War the old plantation lands were divided up and sold for development, and several small communities sprang to life along the river, the main source of transportation. Some of the communities were Chaseville, Floral Bluff, Gilmore, and Arlington Bluff, later known as Matthews and then Clifton. All had a general store and a post office well before 1900, and often the storeowner was also the Postmaster. Chaseville also had a boat building enterprise started by Samuel Chase, hence the name, Chaseville. The inland community of Egleston was also platted in 1888 near Lake Lucina.
An event that briefly opened Arlington up to the world was the J M & P Railroad, which opened in 1888, and ran from a dock near what is now Jones College, diagonally through the community with a Railroad Station in Egleston. This was also a family business started by Alexander Wallace, who sold a sawmill in Jacksonville to fund his new enterprise. He opened a hotel on the ocean at Mayport called the Burnside and reportedly paid cash for everything. The railroad became known as the “Cash Road.” Arlington benefited greatly with an active hotel in Egleston. Mr. Wallace unfortunately died shortly after its opening and by 1895 the train became history.
Atlantic Boulevard, originally known as Pablo Road, was opened in 1910, and a few years later a bridge, of sorts, was built over Arlington River, and a road was opened from Atlantic Boulevard to the point originally known as Reddie Point or Chaseville Point. The road became known as Chaseville Road, and in 1959 it became University Boulevard. Arlington Road, which runs from Atlantic Boulevard across the old Mill Dam at Strawberry Creek and then west to the river, was named by proclamation in 1912. Thus the “Crossroads” were formed where these roads intersected and by 1930 it was the “Town Center” of Arlington.
Before the crossroads the town center was located at the foot of Arlington Road, which was connected by ferry service to the foot of Beaver Street ca 1912. There were several family businesses documented in the 1924 Arlington History located at the ferry landing: Bradshaw’s Store, which was also the first Arlington Post Office, Oliver Frieseke also had a general store, and his father before him had one at Floral Bluff. Hayes Ice Cream, Olson’s Shipyard, and Seaboard Dredging run by Mr. Loennecke were on the riverfront on either side of the ferry landing. Both families were originally located at Dames Point where many of the early Arlington families came from, and most all of them had marine oriented backgrounds. Mr. Phillips had a turpentine still just south of Olson’s, which also supported quite a few families. The Ferry service made all this possible, and was also a family-owned business started by the Alderman Realty Company, but soon purchased by Mr. Anson Macy, whose family helped operate and maintain the vessels.
It seems that many of the early settlers were part of extended families, including my own, which settled in Arlington in 1912-14. They were involved in the Alderman Realty Co., Red Bay Ranch and Dairy (now Tree Hill) and Johnson and Son Dredging. In later years the dairy became Lone Star Stables. The Nolan family moved their dairy from the west side of Jacksonville to Atlantic Boulevard ca. 1923, and opened the Nolan’s Alpine Dairy, which stayed open for many years. There were several other Arlington families that had smaller dairies including the Colcords, the Jaques and the Johnsons.
Another family enterprise was Norman Laboratories, who took over The Eagle Film Studios, a silent film company on Arlington Road, and made silent films utilizing a cast of black actors for many years. This compound still exists today and is being restored as a historic monument. Mrs. Norman converted the film studio into a dance studio in the early thirties, and was very successful for many years.
This month we are going to focus on a family-owned business that was located at the southeast corner of the crossroads known as “Haines Grocery” that opened ca. 1930, and closed in 1956. This family was also originally from Dames Point, and kin to other Arlington families. We are fortunate to have programmed for our August speaker, Emily Ruth Haines Surowiec, who grew up in the store. Joan Jaques Vinson, who also grew up in Arlington, has furnished her memories of Haines Grocery.

Burial:Arlington Park Cemetery
Duval County
Florida, USA
Plot: Baby Land Photos by  Johnny

Russell  Charles  Macy 8/24/1928 - 4/7/2012
MACY, Russell C, passed on April 7, 2012 in Tampa, FL. He was born in Arlington, Fl. in 1928 to Louis and Martha Macy. Russ was a man of strong faith who attended Oak Grove UM Church for 47 years, taught Sunday School, as well as serving as Deacon. He participated in mission trips to Belize to help build a church/school for a small village. Russ worked for Gulf Oil Corp. for 17 yrs. before building a successful business in air conditioning with his sons. He was also a talented cabinet maker and taught drafting at Tampa Bay Tech’s night school program for many years. Russ loved his family, his lakefront home and crossword puzzles. He is predeceased by his brothers, Anson and Louis Macy, his sister, Thelma Fulkerson, and his granddaughter, Larsen Hunt. He is survived by his devoted wife of 62 years, Sarah E. Macy, and his sister Myra Stevens. His children, Ken, Mark, Susan Hunt and Martin (Rusty) are grateful and blessed to have grown up in a stable, loving home. “Dedaddy” will be greatly missed by his 13 grandchildren and 12 great grandchildren. Memorial services will be held at 6:30pm, April 20, at Oak Grove United Methodist Church, 2707 W. Waters Ave., Tampa, Fl. In lieu of flowers, the family asks for donations to “The Aidric Hunt Assistance Fund” at any Bank of America.

Thomas Macy articles Powow preacher spats with Puritans  and Persecuted Quakers finally find refuge
Arlington history retold in new booklet 03/14/98
Ferry Rides Again

Monday, August 4, 2014

Captain Edwin John Colby AKA (Lorentz Spitzenfiel Colby)

Capt Edwin John Colby son of John Colby and Dolly Bagley Colby born on July 31 1812 in Salisbury, Essex County, Massachusetts. Originally given the name Lorentz Spitzenfiel Colby, List of Persons Whose Names Have Been Changed in This Commonwealth Feb. 26, 1814.) He appeared in the census in 1850 in Salisbury, Essex County, Massachusetts. (SOURCE: 1850 Massachusetts Census. Salisbury, Essex County, page 20. Age 38.) Also See Private and Special Statutes of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts, Volume 4 and The Genealogist, Volumes 13-14 Died on December 19 1859 at Bremen-Vegesack, Weser, Germany.

Sea Captain: Joined the Marine Society Nov. 27, 1856 Newburyport, MA

From The History of the Marne Society of Newburyport
Capt. Edwin J. Colby was born at Salisbury Point, Mass., July 31, 1812, and was the son of John and Dolly Bagley Colby, being the oldest of nine children. As a boy he evinced a taste for the sea, and at the early age of 17 years he commenced his sea- faring life with Capt. 'William Morrill of Salisbury, in the ship Virginia of Alexandria, in August, 1829, going to different southern ports, Richmand, Jamestown, Norfolk and Hampton Roads. In a few years he sailed with the same Capt. Morrill on the Maryland, and at the age of 21 he was second mate of that ship and went to Liverpool. Not long after he was advanced to the position of first mate of the brig Vesta, Capt. Knapp, and visited Havana and other places in the West Indies, also foreign ports. In 1839 he was made a captain of the Jeannette, and in 1841 he commanded the brig Alice of New York, owned by Thomas and Eben Hale (perhaps others). The names of other vessels that afterwards he was master of were the brig Salisbury of Newburyport, bark Tartar, the ships Arno, Edward and the Atlanta, which was owned by Theodore Chase & Co., of Boston. His voyages were usually long, covering a period of nearly two years, and while in the earlier part of his life he went to the southern ports, the later trips were made to the ports in South America, Valpariso, Callao, Chincha Islands, to Melbourne, Australia, St. Helena, to Cadiz, through the Mediterranean to Palermo, Sicily, and up the Adriatic Sea to Trieste. He visited Havre and Bordeaux, Falmouth and Liverpool, London, Isle of Cowes, Elsinore in Denmark, Amsterdam in Holland, and Cronstadt in Russia, Bremen in Germany, Calcutta, Singapore and Aykab, China and Japan. On the 10th of March, 1858, he sailed on the Atlantic from Boston for Calcutta, Melbourne and Bremen, reaching the latter place about December 1859. Here he was taken sick and went to the home of his friend, Henri Wehmann of Vegesack, in order to have proper care and physician's services, but in spite of the constant attention of his friends and the physician's skill, he grew rapidly worse and on the 19th of December, 1859, he passed away in the 48th year of his age. He was buried in the family lot of the Wehmann's at Negesack with Masonic honors, be being a member of Warren Lodge of Amesbury, of Washington Lodge of Charleston S. C, and was made honorary member of Industry and Perseverance Lodge of England at Calcutta, on Sept. II, 1857, and was presented with a gold badge by that lodge. He joined the Marine Society Nov. 27, 1856, and was a member in good standing at" the time of his death. He was a noble character, and his kind and genial nature made him many friends who respected and esteemed him. He had the confidence and regard of his employers, and was a valued citizen of his native place. His devotion to his family was constant and he was well worthy of their affection. He left a wife who survived him only two years.
Edwin was on the Salisbury militia rolls of 1841-1845, 1852 and 1855. Edwin married Mary Follansbee Wigglesworth , daughter of Samuel Wigglesworth and Joanna Heckett born on April 10 1814 in Salisbury, Essex County, Massachusetts. (SOURCE: Early Vital Recorcs of Essex County, Massachusetts to 1850 for Salisbury. She appeared in the census in 1850 in Salisbury, Essex County, Massachusetts. SOURCE: 1850 Massachusetts Census. Salisbury, Essex County, page 20. Age 35 She appeared in the census in 1860 in Salisbury, Essex County, Massachusetts. She died on February 4 1862 at Salisbury, Essex County, Massachusetts.

                                                           Mary F Wigglesworth Colby

Children were: John Edwin COLBY, MaryElizabeth COLBY, Ada Josephine COLBY, Joanna Alice COLBY. Edwin lost his son John age 4 Friday, September 20, 1844 Boston Traveler (Boston, MA)

Reported for the Inquirer; City Item Friday, March 8, 1844 Philadelphia Inquirer PA

 Edwin's brother Macy-Colby House Paintings  Captain Elbridge Gerry Colby Edwin's OBIT: Tuesday, January 10, 1860 Paper: Boston Traveler (Boston, MA) 

Saturday, August 2, 2014

Josiah Bartlett first signer Declaration of Independence Monument Amesbury Massachusetts and Kingston New Hampshire Home

The Costumed Committee clipping dated April 14, 1969 from the Stearns Family Shown in photo from Kingston NH L to R Mrs Richard A Berry Leonard F Sanborn, as the pastor. Roiney M Wilson and wife Mrs Wilson, a direct descendant of Josiah Bartlett, Richard A Berry and Mrs Donald M Chase
Listed in the Smithsonian's inventory of American sculpture. 
Josiah Bartlett Auction, New Hampshire, Martin Willis Auctioneer VIDEO Josiah Bartlett Date: Saturday, March 4, 1871
Paper: Portsmouth Journal of Literature and Politics (Portsmouth, NH)

From: Home of Declaration of Independence signer and West Wing inspiration Josiah Bartlett goes on sale for $849,000 - complete with tree he brought back from Philly in 1776 The home has been in the Bartlett family for seven generations and never been on the market. The current owner, Ruth Albert, is moving to Florida with her husband Desperately tried to find a family member to move in, to no avail By James Nye

 Ruth Albert, the great-great-great-great-granddaughter of Josiah Bartlett, the former New Hampshire governor, and signer of the Declaration of Independence poses in her home on Wednesday July 16, 2014 by the desk and under the portrait of Bartlett in Kingston, New Hampshire
See Descendants of the Signers of the Declaration of Independence
The Papers of Josiah Bartlett By Josiah Bartlett
Be sure to visit Bartlett Museum in Amesbury Ma to learn more on history and family

“A man of the distinguished powers of Doctor Bartlett, and of his decision and integrity, was not likely long to remain unnoticed, in times which tried men’s souls.”–

Josiah Bartlett, a signer of the Declaration of Independence. Standing portrait of Josiah Bartlett holding a quill in one hand and the Declaration of Independence in the other. Dedicated July 4, 1888, with a reading of John Greenleaf Whittier. Located in Huntington Square, Amesbury, Massachusetts. The sculpture was modeled from a painting by JohnTrumbull.Article includes John Greenleaf Whittier poem visit his home in Amesbury MA 

Bartlett's home (for a virtual tour) and an article by Frederick Myron Colby from the Granite Monthly Volume 6 More on F M Colby Colby history is in Amesbury as well visit Macy-Colby Home 

Relic: A linden tree planted as a sapling by Josiah Bartlett after signing the Declaration of Independence is seen on the front lawn of his home Wednesday July 16, 2014 in Kingston, New Hampshire

One of four bedrooms, complete with a wood stove is seen in the farmhouse built in 1774 for former New Hampshire governor and signer of the Declaration of Independence Josiah Bartlett Wednesday July 16, 2014, in Kingston, N.H. The home is up for sale after being in the family for seven generations. (AP Photo/Jim Cole)

This photo is from an article by Caroline Blonski An inside look at Kingston's Josiah Bartlett House It's home to descendant of signer of Declaration of Independence

Basic: A commode and hand pumped bath tub are seen on the second floor of the Josiah Bartlett home, Wednesday, July 16, 2014, in Kingston, New Hampshire

Period: The parlor of the four-bedroom farmhouse built in 1774 for former New Hampshire governor and signer of the Declaration of Independence Josiah Bartlett 


Read More: N.H. Declaration of Independence Signer’s Home For Sale [Photos] |

Read More: N.H. Declaration of Independence Signer’s Home For Sale [Photos] |

Read More: N.H. Declaration of Independence Signer’s Home For Sale [Photos] |

Read More: N.H. Declaration of Independence Signer’s Home For Sale [Photos] |

Thursday, July 24, 2014

Charles Lenox Remond and others who heard the call of Garrison

Charles Lenox Remond   (February 1, 1810 – December 22, 1873) was an American orator, activist and abolitionist based in Massachusetts. From my column They answered Garrison's anti slavery call

Pioneer abolitionist William Lloyd Garrison attracted a legion of revolutionaries who pressed total reform to “break the yoke of oppression.” Garrisonian satellite groups rose all over, crusading for social equality. The opposing public filled the editorial pages, calling Garrisonians “a farce,” not short of “Bedlam let loose,” subscribing to “hot headed ravings of an insane man.”
Andover Theology School and Phillips Academy ordered Abolition Society (A.S.) meetings to cease “as they did not wish to identify with Garrison’s imprudence.” On the issue of slavery, the order was “not to pray about it publicly.” Nevertheless, over 50 of the firebrand fellows joined an A.S. off campus and were expelled. Two of the Andover “defiers,” Richard Rust and Gilbert Pillsbury, enrolled in the progressive Noyes Academy in N.H.

Both men would play an instrumental role in the abolitionist movement. Rust helped set up Wilberforce University, the first college to be owned and operated by African Americans. He established Rust College, offering teacher training for freed slaves, and went on to organize 14 others. 

Francis and Archibald Grimké From The Earnest Protest of Francis Grimké

Pillsbury was elected commissioner of the Freedmen’s Bureau of South Carolina. His wife, Ann Francis Ray, opened a school for black students that included the Grimké brothers. The Pillsbury family also sponsored them, sending Archibald to Harvard and Francis to Princeton. Both became co-founders of the NAACP. 
Charles Lenox. Remond, a black lawyer from Salem, won the favor of those “generally dark on the issue of slavery and prejudice” with his compelling speeches. He was a global reformer, and society ladies from Bangor to Newport financed his travels. On one mission, Redmond brought back 60,000 signatures endorsed by the lord mayor of Dublin encouraging Irishmen in America to oppose slavery and “insist on liberty for all regardless of color, creed, or country.”
During the Civil War, Remond recruited soldiers for the black regiments while Garrison and his associates raised funds to support them.
His sister, Sarah Parker Remond, a brilliant orator and gutsy woman, challenged discrimination on all levels. In 1853, Remond made national headlines when she filed suit against Boston Howard Athenaeum. The opera house forcibly evicted her when she declined her seat in the segregated area. She won and was awarded $500.

Sarah Parker Remond (1826-1894) From ‘Bury Me Not in a Land of Slaves’: Unsung Legacy of Frances Harper & Sara Remond

While overseas, Sarah Remond sparred with the American Embassy in London when denied a passport to France due to her color. She remedied the matter by contacting the press. When the buzz circulated, the British foreign secretary approved her visa. She got her medical degree and established a successful practice in Italy.

Charles C. Burleigh (Photo) met Mary Moody Emerson at a lecture and aroused her with Garrison’s valiant deeds, and by the end of the evening she declared: “he out be canonized!”
Some sources suggest Burleigh’s long flowing beard and sandy ringlets may have sealed the deal.
Mary Emerson rallied her Concord friends like Lousia Alcott and Lidian Emerson to raise a handsome sum to aid fugitive slaves.
The Anthony Burns case, where a fugitive slave was recaptured in Boston, tried and sent back to slavery, fueled anti-slavery sentiment and Garrison publicly burned a copy of the Fugitive Slave Act. 

Amos A. Lawrence was one of the many who redeemed his “old fashioned, Whig conservative” ways and “woke up a stark mad Abolitionist.” J. B. Swasey was “a new convert and a very zealous one” (Charlotte Forten Grimke). Many noted he lit up the Port during his speeches.
Caleb Cushing’s “zeal and ability” to defend the abolitionist cause was not above board, as he “failed to remember the pledges” he promised. Cushing’s attempt to suppress his antislavery record and gain power with the Whig party was quickly diminished by John Greenleaf Whittier, who reprinted a telling letter from Cushing with a witty preface, sinking his ambitions.
The petition to boot Judge Edward G. Loring from the bench over the Anthony Burns tragedy put Cushing back in the arena. The newspapers printed his performance, praising him as he brought down the house with his attacks on Garrison, “a half insane colored man,” and a few “possessed with monomania” as representative of the true commonwealth. Cushing was wrong, as Loring was disrobed and had lost the confidence of the people.
In the first edition of The Liberator Garrison wrote: “I WILL BE HEARD!” Well, he was heard and so were his soul sparkers. They spoke “in a slumbering nation’s ear,” and “the fetter’s link” was broken!

Soldiers of the 54th From Detour to Liberty: Black Troops in Florida during the Civil War

In 1840, Charles Lenox Redman was an American delegate to the World’s Anti-Slavery Convention in London, but he refused to take his seat when women delegates were segregated from the main floor into the gallery. He remained in England and Ireland lecturing against slavery and returned to the United States in 1841 with an "Address from the People of Ireland," with 60,000 signatures, that called on Irish Americans to oppose slavery and all discrimination. He became a close friend and associate of Frederick Douglass, initially advocating peaceful means to end slavery, but became increasingly militant. He broke with Douglass in 1852 when the latter refused to adopt the view that the U.S. Constitution was an instrument of slaveholders. Remond increasingly advocated violent means if necessary to overthrow slavery, declaring "slaves were bound by their love of justice to rise at once, en masse, and throw off their fetters." At the outbreak of the Civil War, Remond joined Douglass in recruiting black soldiers for the Massachusetts 54th and 55th regiments. After the war he continued to lecture for the freedman and worked as an official of the customs house in Boston. (bio by: Bob on Gallows Hill)

PHOTO: Abolitionist group at Lucy Stone's house, undated. Picture includes: Samuel May, William Lloyd Garrison, Elizabeth B. Chase, Francis Garrison, Sarah Stone, Samuel E. Sewall, George T. Garrison, Zilpha H. Spooner, Wendell P. Garrison, Henry B. Blackwell and Theodore D. Weld. By Notman Photograph Company, Boston, Massachusetts. Photograph courtesy of the Sophia Smith Collection, Smith College, Northampton, Massachusetts. Author's note: The reference to William Lloyd Garrison in this citation is probably to his son William Lloyd Garrison Jr.   From Common Place

  • African-American Orators: A Bio-critical Source book edited by Richard W. Leeman 
  • The Selected Papers of Elizabeth Cady Stanton and Susan B. Anthony: National protection for national citizens, 1873 to 1880
  • Charles Lenox Remond: Black Abolitionist, 1838-1873 William Edward Ward
  • The Frederick Douglass Papers: 1842-1852 By Frederick Douglass
  • The Journals of Charlotte Forten Grimké By Charlotte L. Forten
  • Picture From Find a Grave
  • Hidden History of Salem By Susanne Saville
  • The Salem World of Nathaniel Hawthorne By Margaret B. Moore
  • Charles Benson: Mariner of Color in the Age of Sail By Michael Sokolow
  • Black
  • See Salem Women's History