Pages

Showing posts with label Fire buckets. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Fire buckets. Show all posts

Thursday, August 21, 2014

Robert Laird Newburyport Brewery

If you have any information on Laird family please contact me at melissadavenportberry@gmail.com  In 1828 in the Spofford Gazette article it stated that Robert Laird's Brewery produced 5000 barrels of beer a year. Euphemia Vale Blake in History of Newburyport asserts that Robert Laird's beer, porter and ale, were famed throughout the country.
From Newburyort News November 20 2013  On this day in 1785, James Ferguson and Robert Laird set up a brewery opposite to Somersby’s Landing in Newbury-port where they claimed to brew the best porter and strong beer to be sold “at the most reasonable rate” and believed that their liquor would “equal that which comes from the best English Breweries.”
— Information provided by the Historical Society of Old Newbury

Firebucket from Robert Laird's Brewery, Green Street, Newburyport. 1822. One of the most dramatic scenes on a firebucket that I have ever seen. Peter Eaton Antiques
  


Brewery, Robert Laird Saturday, April 1, 1797 Impartial Herald (Newburyport, MA) Page: 4


 A view of Green Street Newburyport from Newburyport News 

In History of Newburyport Vol 2 J J Currier notes Laird sold ice--ad in the Newburyport Herald Oct 1815
Although the cutting and storing of ice for summer use was not an established industry in Ncwburyport until 1840, as stated on page 226 of the first volume of this history, the following advertisements indicate that a limited supply of that useful commodity could be obtained at a much earlier date:—
Ice may be had at Robert Laird's brewery on Green street every morning (Sundays excepted), from six to eight o'clock, at three cents per pound.
Families can be accommodated with ICE for the season (on moderate terms), and should enough apply to make it an object it will be sent according to the wish of those supplied.
A thank you for Laird's fine spirits


Advertisement Date: Friday, March 5, 1819 Paper: Newburyport Herald (Newburyport, MA) 


A fire in 1839 recorded Destructive Fire at Newburyport  August 31, 1839 Portsmouth Journal of Literature and Politics (Portsmouth, NH)
 
Laird Genealogy Newburyport
From History of Ryegate, Vermont, from its settlement by the Scotch-American company of farmers to present time; (1913)



From Massachusetts Vital Records to 1850 (Online Database: AmericanAncestors.org, New England Historic Genealogical Society, 2001-2010).


1814, writing reads Margaret Laird Newburyport , September 5, 1814 McCord Museum - M966.92.8



Just In from Newburyport Archival Center
Rolfe papers on Robert Laird. Yes he was married to Margaret Waddel of VT.
LAIRD
Robert Laird
a Scotchman, came to Newburyport about 1785 and with James Ferguson established a brewery opposite Somersby’s Landing near the foot of Green St. Later on he sold ice there for 3ct a pound between 6 and 8 o’clock in the morning. He married Margaret Waddel of Bernard, Vt., published Jan. 6, 1787. She died Nov 24 1824 aged 59 (O.B.H. 614) Gr 2. He married 2nd Oct. 25, 1825 Mrs Elizabeth Tilton. He died May 17, 1847 a 84 Sec L-5 Lot 6 Gr 1 (613)
They had children: -
1. Nancy Laird b Nov. 16, 1787; died Nov. 27, 1787 a 13 das Gr 5 (617)
2. Rebekah Laird b Oct. 30, 1788; d June 20, 1795 a 6y 8m Gr 6
3. Margaret Laird b Oct. 21, 1790; m Oct. 19, 1817 Daniel Moody
4. Nancy Laird, 2d, b Dec. 8, 1792; d June 13 1794 a 1y 6m Gr 4 (616)
5. Nancy Laird, 3d, b Jan. 12, 1795; m Sept. 19, 1819
Charles Wade of Boston
6. Rebeckah Laird b Jan. 5, 1797; m March 9, 1830
W. H. Tyler of Calais, Me.
7. John Laird b June 25, 1799; d Oct. 20, 1821 a 23y Gr 3 (615)
8. Robert Laird b Dec. 15, 1800; d April 6, 1801 a 4 mos ?? Gr 7
9. Robert Laird b June 21, 1802; m Oct. 19, 1826
Elizabeth Ann Follansbe
10. Elizabeth Laird b June 12, 1804; m Amos Toppan May 22, 1828
11. Mary Ann Laird b Jan. 15, 1807; m Feb. 17, 1829 Moses Davenport Jr.
12. Harriot Laird b Dec. 24, 1808

Monday, August 4, 2014

First Fire Society Newburyport Articles 1746

Firemen Of Old Saturday, July 6, 1872 Colombian Register (New Haven, CT)  Page: 3



Photos From History of Newburyport, Mass 1764-1905, Volume 2 By John James Currier
Some history on Fire Societies
FIRE SOCIETIES AND FIRE ENGINES.
Dr. John Spraguc, who came to Newbury previous to 1738, was a member of one of the societies organized for the purpose of preventing, if possible, the destruction of property by fire. A leather bucket, formerly in his possession, bearing his name and the date of 1746, is shown in the half-tone print on this page. The bucket is now in the possession of Miss Jane R. Wood of Newburyport. Another bucket, an exact duplicate, is in the possession of Mrs. Margaret (Andrews) Allen of Madison, Wisconsin.
The Dernier Resort Fire Society, consisting of thirty members, was organized as early as 1760. Ralph Cross, Caleb Cross, Lemuel Collin, Nathaniel Knapp, Isaac Knapp, John Mycall, Timothy Palmer, Leonard Smith, Abraham Williams, Robert Williams and others were members of the society. According to the rules and regulations adopted at that date, and afterwards revised and printed, each member was required to keep at his residence two leather buckets and a knapsack containing two canvas bags ready for use at all times. Two of these leather buckets, formerly the property of Ralph Cross, are now in the possession of the Newburyport Marine Society.
In December, 1775, the Marine Fire Society was organized. One of the articles of association adopted provided that no person shall be elected a member of the society
"unless he be a member of the Marine Society of Newburyport."
The second article reads as follows :—
Each of us will also keep in good order, hanging up in some convenient place in our respective dwellings, two leather buckets, in which shall be two bags, each bag measuring one yard and a half in length, and three-quarters of a yard in breadth, being hemmed at the mouths, and having strong strings to draw them close; the buckets and bags shall be marked with the first letter of the owner's Christian name and with his surname at length, under a penalty of three shillings for each deficiency.'
Moses Brown, Jonathan Parsons, Peter LeBreton, William Farris, John O'Brien, Benjamin Rogers, Henry Lunt,Nicholas Johnson, Charles Hodge, David Coats, William Coombs, Joseph Newman, Michael Hodge, William P. Johnson, Edward Wigglesworth, Ebenezer Stocker, William Nichols and others were members of this society. It was not dissolved until the close of the year 1833, and perhaps later. Two leather buckets, formerly the property of William Nichols, captain and part-owner of the privateer Independence in the Revolutionary war, are now in the possession of his grandson, George E. Hale of Newburyport. A photograph of these buckets, taken for the illustration of this sketch, is reproduced in the half-tone print on this page.
The Union Fire Society was organized February 28, 1783. Benjamin Frothingham, Edward Toppan, William Cross, Daniel Balch, jr., Abraham Jackson, Daniel Coffin, Richard Pike and other well-known citizens of Newburyport were members of this association. Meetings were held usually at Wolfe Tavern. The half-tone print on the next page is reproduced from an engraving in the possession of the Essex Institute, Salem, Mass.
The Federal Fire Society was organized in 1791. At that date the prominent members of the society were James Hodge, Nathaniel Knap, jr., Isaac Knap, jr., Edward Sweat, jr., Abraham Perkins, William Wyer, jr., David Wood, Joseph Swasey, jr., and John Greenough.

Sources:
See Newburyport Town Records @ PEM
Articles and regulations of the Relief Fire Society, in Newburyport : formed the twenty-first of March, 1775.