Showing posts with label Gould. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Gould. Show all posts

Sunday, July 6, 2014

Anson Green Phelps & The Phelps Dodge Dynasty

From the Archives For my Phelps Group Connection to join Phelps Genealogy in America Ad 1887 Guide to the Phelps Dodge Co
Phelps Dodge Co A History of Phelps Dodge, 1834-1950
Junior engineer to president, director of Phelps Dodge, 1937 to 1983 oral history transcript 1996 19th-Century Origins
In 1834 founder Anson Phelps, a New York entrepreneur thoroughly experienced in the import-export trade and well-connected in his targeted British market, formed Phelps, Dodge & Co. Along with his junior partners, sons-in-law William Dodge and Daniel James, Phelps supplied his English customers with cotton, replacing it on the homeward journey with tin, tin plate, iron, and copper, for sale to government, trade, and individual consumers in the United States. Before long, Phelps started a manufacturing company in Connecticut called the Ansonia Brass and Battery Company, and in 1845 he helped organize the Ansonia Manufacturing Company, which produced kettles, lamps, rivets, buttons, and other metal items. Phelps steered his fledgling empire grimly through a seven-year panic that began during 1837. His reward came during the following 14 year s of national prosperity, when large numbers of his products went west with new settlers, accompanied travelers on the rapidly expanding railroads, and provided a modicum of comfort for miners at the recentl y discovered Sierra Nevada gold deposits in California. Even broader markets came from such inventions as the McCormick reaper and the electric telegraph, whose need for cable wire would swell Phelps Dodge c offers well into the next century. By 1849 the company was capitalized at almost $1 million, and its profits were almost 30 percent. Phelps's death in 1853 gave his son and each of his two sons-in-law a 25 percent interest in the business, with 15 percent going to a younger son-in-law. This second partnership was scarcely five years old when Anson Phelps, Jr., died. On January 1, 1859, the partnership was revised again, to increase the firm's capitalization to $1.5 mill ion and to give William Dodge and Daniel James each a 28 percent share. With reorganization complete, the company turned its attention to developing industries such as mining. An interest in timber had begun in the mid-1830s, when Phelps, Dodge accepted timber-lands in Pennsylvania in lieu of payment for a debt. Later it built the world's largest lumber mill there, establishing a timber agency in Baltimore, Maryland, to send its products to domestic and foreign customers. Despite these diversification, the principal interests of the company were still mercantile. However, through the advice of James Douglas , a mining engineer and chemical geologist, Phelps, Dodge was persuaded to take a large block of stock in the Morenci copper mine in what was then the Arizona Territory. Morenci was owned by the Detroit Copper Company, which exchanged the stock for a $30,000 loan. Douglas was also enthusiastic about prospects for another claim called Atlanta, situated in Arizona's Bisbee district, about 200 miles southwest of Morenci. In 1881 the company bought the Atlanta claim for $40,000. Two years later Phelps, Dodge had a chance to purchase the adjoining Copper Queen mine, which was then producing about 300 tons of ore monthly. The partnership decided to buy Copper Queen when Douglas hit th e main Atlanta lode in 1884, at almost the same time that a Copper Queen tunnel penetrated the lode from a different spot. Arizona mining operations at the time stuck strictly to the "rule of the apex," according to which a claim owner could follow a vein of ore onto another claim, if the deposit had come closest to the surface on his land. Th is had occurred with Copper Queen, and Phelps, Dodge, rather than ris k losing this strike to the Copper Queen owners, purchased the Copper Queen mine, merging it with the Atlanta claim. In August 1885 Phelps, Dodge & Co. decided to streamline its operations by incorporating the subsidiary Copper Queen Consolidated Mining Company in New York, with James Douglas as president. Cautiously, Douglas made no major acquisitions for ten years. Then, he bought the Moctezuma Copper Company in Sonora, Mexico, from the Guggenheim family. Two years later he purchased the Detroit Copper Company.
James S Douglas Mine Tales (1867–1949) Antique Ansonia Clocks was the first company owned by Anson Green Phelps

Rev Anson Green Phelps Dodge JR B: June 30, 1860 N Y City, NY D: 1898 St. Simon's Island, Georgia Father: Anson Green Phelps Dodge SR (1834-c. 1899) Mother: Rebecca Wainwright Grew (1836-1925) Married: (1) Ellen Ada Phelps Dodge Eloped June 5, 1880, London, England Married: (2) Anna Deborah Gould (1856-1927) 1890 St. Simon's Island, Georgia. Children: by Ellen Ada Phelps Dodge: none by Anna Deborah Gould: Anson Green Phelps Dodge, 3rd (1891-1894)

Ellen was the daughter of Rev. D. Stewart Dodge, of New York State, a Presbyterian clergyman, and his wife Rachael. Ellen married her cousin, Rev. Anson Green Phelps Dodge, and although she died in India fifteen years before he did, she is buried with him on St. Simons Island. Find A Grave Born: Feb. 28, 1862 New York, USA Death: Nov. 29, 1883 Allahabad, India An excerpt from the long obituary of her husband, which appeared in the ATLANTA CONSTITUTION, August 28, 1898, on page 4: "When his first wife died in India, Mr. Dodge had her body embalmed by one of the most noted embalmers in that country. It was inclosed in a metallic coffin and then placed in an ebony casket. This was carried across two continents to its last resting place on St. Simons. At Frederica the memorial church stands, one of the most expensive of the smaller churches in this section. On the wall to the right of the altar this inscription is engraved on a marble tablet:
To the glory of God and in loving memory of Ellen Ada Phelps Dodge, beloved wife of Rev. A. G. P. Dodge, Jr. Born February 28th, 1862; died November 29, 1883, at Allahabad, India. To her under God is due the rebuilding and endowing of this church. May she rest in peace."
Rev. Dodge wrote directions that his former wife's remains were to be taken from their ebony casket and placed in a pine coffin like his own, and the two were then to be placed side by side in the burying grounds at Frederica. Their grave was dug "under the shadow of Wesley Oak, where John Wesley first expounded Methodism in this country..."
Anna was the daughter of Horace B. Gould and Deborah Abbott, both of Glynn Co., Georgia. She married Rev. Anson Greene Phelps Dodge, Jr. as his second wife.Birth: Dec., 1856 Glynn County Georgia, USA Death:  Mar. 18, 1927 Saint Simons Island Glynn County Georgia, USA

See The Phelps Papers: The papers consist of diaries kept by Anson Greene Phelps, philanthropist, officer in several voluntary associations, manufacturer, and founder of Ansonia, Connecticut. The diaries cover the years 1806-1807 and 1816-1853 and primarily contain thoughts on religious subjects.

Anson Green Phelps I (1781-1853) Father Thomas Phelps (1741 - 1789) Mother Dorothy Lamb Woodbridge Phelps (1745 - 1792) Of an old Connecticut family. Orphaned at age ten, Anson Green Phelps I (1781-1853) was apprenticed to a saddle maker and later set himself up in business in Hartford as a merchant. He traded saddles against cotton from Charleston SC which in turn he sold in New York and bought there the dry goods he marketed in his store. After the war of 1812, Anson Phelps moved to New York, where he associated himself to fellow Connecticut trader Elisha Peck, to form Phelps & Peck. The firm prospered and became New York's largest metal importer, with Phelps selling the metals in New York and buying cotton in the South which he exported to England. Peck handled the English end of the business in Liverpool. After the collapse of their new six story store at Cliff Street, the partnership was dissolved and Phelps took two of his sons-in-laws as partners to for Phelps, Dodge & Co in New York and Phelps, James & Co in Liverpool. Starting in 1834, Anson Greene Phelps involved himself in the brass industry which emerged in the Naugatuck valley in Connecticut. By the time of his death, some twenty years later, Phelps was one of the main factors in the copper and brass business, at the same time as Phelps Dodge & Co was the dominant metal importer. Ansonia, the industrial township he founded, stands as a monument to Phelps' enterprising spirit. Like other merchant capitalists, Anson Phelps had many other interests, including railroads, notably the New York & Erie, and banking. He owned a controlling interest in the Bank of Dover New Jersey, which was managed by his friend Thomas B. Segur. When he died in 1853, he left an estate exceeding $2 million, of which half was real estate in New York City and Ansonia. From his marriage to Olivia Eggleston, he had six daughters and one son Anson Phelps jr., who married but had no children. Three of his sons-in-law (William Earl Dodge, Daniel James and James Stokes) joined Phelps Dodge & Co and fathered one of New York's most renowned merchant dynasty.
The family to which Mr. Dodge belonged is descended from William Dodge, son of John Dodge of Somersetshire, England, who was one of the settlers of Charlestown, Mass., in 1629. A branch of this family settled in Connecticut about the time of the Revolution from which came David Low Dodge, grandfather of Wm. E. Dodge, jr., who married Sarah, daughter of the Rev. Aaron Cleveland, grandfather of ex-President Cleveland R Dodge's mother was Melissa Phelps, daughter of Anson Green Phelps, founder of the firm of Phelps, Dodge & Co., and Oliver Egleston, daughter of Elihu and Elizabeth (Olcott) Egleston. She was descended from George Phelps who came over in the Mary and John and first settled in Dorchester, and numbered among her ancestors, Governors Dudley, Haynes and Wyllys.
Read Letter 1839 Melissa Phelps Dodge 

Mr. William Earle Dodge received his education in New York City and followed the path his father trod before him both in business and ublic life. In 1864 he became a partner in the firm of Phelps, Dodge & Co., an finally senior member of the firm. His connection with this house, however, constituted only one of the various interests of his business life. The town of Ansonia, Conn., had been named after his grandfather, Anson G. Phelps, and its industries were fostered by the two families united in the Phelps-Dodge marriage. He became president of the Ansouia Clock Company, and a director in the Ansonia Brass Company. He was also a director in many railway and mining comanies, a trustee of the New York Life Insurance Com any, and the Atlantic utual Insurance Company, and was vice-president o the New York Chamber of Commerce at the time of his death.
Yet varied as were his business interests these constituted only a fraction of the many interests with which Mr. Dodge identified himself. He was one of the most patriotic, public spirited and philanthropic citizens of New York, and perhaps the most active of them all in things which concerned its best welfare.
While still a young man he began to take a deep interest in all matters affecting the public welfare and he gave his hearty support to almost every reform or public work of importance. During the civil war he was active in many ways; was one of the founders of the Union League Club, and a projector of the Sanitar Fair; served in the Allotment and Sanitary Commissions, and was one of the commissioners of the State of New York to supervise the condition of its troops in the field. His commission was one of the first signed b President Lincoln, and at the conclusion of his service he received a vote 0 thanks from the Legislature of the State for his efficiency. "At the time of the draft riots in New York City, he was the man who found the ammunition which the militia used to tell the mob. The city was in a turmoil, and the militia was under arms in t e armories, but not a cartridge could be found for the soldiers. The State and federal authorities were appealed to without success, and the city was looking forward to another night of terror, when it occurred to Mr. Dodge to go to the navy yard and secure ammunition from the commandant there. The commandant was willing to give the cartridges, but could furnish no men to take them to the armories, as he was having trouble defending the yard. At last Mr. Dodge got a truck, loaded the ammunition on it, and himself drove it through the,streets to one of the armories. The militia was armed and the city was quieted."—N. 1’. Tribune.
Mr. Dodge was much interested in various public institutions and societies founded to promote the knowledge of science and art among the people. He was vice-president, trustee and chairman of the Executive Committee of the Metropolitan Museum of Art, and was very active in its behalf; was also vice president and trustee of the American Museum of Natural History, and a trustee of the New York Botanical Garden; was a trustee of the Carnegie Institution, and a member of the New York Academy of Science, the Linnehan Society of New York, the American Geographical Society, the American Historical Association,and of the New York Historical Society . But he specially interested himself in the welfare of the young men 0 New York Cit , devoting himself to the work of the Young Men's Christian Association, with which he was connected from the be inning of its prosperity, serving it for many years as president of its Board 0 Trustees. It was largely through his activity that its first building in Twenty-third Street was erected, and he lived to carry through the project of a new building for the Association now almost completed. He was also president of The Evangelical Alliance, and of the National Temperance Society; was vice-president of the American Sunday School Union, and chairman of the National Arbitration Committee. He contributed liberally of his means as well as his services to the institutions and objects with which he was identified, and it was often said no good cause ever appealed to his generosity in vain. He presented to the garrison at Governor's Island a fine Young Men's Christian Association building, which was opened in July, 1900. He led a fund to endow Union Theoloical Seminary as well as gave valuable moral support to that institution. e founded a lectureship on " The Duties of Christian Citizenship" at Yale; gave largely to the Woman's Hospital, and as chairman of the Abram S. Hewitt Memorial Fund collected over two hundred thousand dollars, to which amount he was one of the largest contributors. His last beneficence was the gift to Columbia University, in 1902, of Earl Hall, as the club center of the university.
William E. Dodge married Sarah Tappan Hoadley, daughter of the late David Hoadley, president of the Panama Railroad, who survives him. He leaves also one son, Cleveland Hoadley Dodge, member of the firm of Phelps, Dodge & Co., and three daughters; Grace Hoadley Dodge, who has distinguished herself by her charitable work, especially amon working girls, and was the first woman to be appointed a member of the New York Board of Education; Mrs. William C. Osborn of New York, and May M. Dodge of London, England.

Anson Phelps Stokes (detail of a painting by Cecilia Beaux, Metropolitan Museum) Helen Louisa Phelps and Anson Phelps Stokes at the time of their engagement

Clockwise from center: Helen Phelps Stokes, J. Graham, Isaac Newton, Helen O., Sarah M., 1872. Stokes Records, vol I, after p. 182 
Dodge Burial: Bronx Bronx County New York, USA
Plot: Ravine, section 33, catacomb 2 Woodlawn Cemetery

Golden Wedding; Dodge Wednesday, June 26, 1878 Springfield Republican MA 

Phelps Dodge Mercantile Co. Dawson, NM

Sunday, April 20, 2014

Dr. John Cutting Berry

John Cutting Berry was born January 16, 1847, in the district of Small Paint, Phippsburg, Sagadahoc County, Maine. He was the son of Stephen Decatur Berry (son of son of Samuel Berry and Hannah Small) and Jane Mary Morse Berry (daughter of Elijah Morse and Ann Morrison). Stephen D Berry married Mary Jane Morse on June 12, 1845.

Deacon Morse
John Cutting Berry was but five years old when his father died, and he and his mother made their home with her father, Deacon Elijah Morse, of Phippsburg, with her brothers, and with a great uncle, Christopher Small. In these homes the boy came under the influence of a strong religious life which did much to shape his character and subsequent career. At the age of seventeen years he united with the church and much of his life since has been devoted to religious and humanitarian work. This Berry line is direct to William Berry settler of Rye Beach NH: The Berry family is of ancient English origin. The best authority gives the derivation of the name as from the word "Bury" or "Borough" (a place of safety, of defense), and the spelling of the name in England, in fact, is more common Bury than Berry.

William Berry, the immigrant ancestor of John Cutting Berry, was in service of Captain William Mason, who was for many years the governor of Portsmouth in the county of Hampshire, whence came the names of Portsmouth, New Hampshire, which he founded and owned.By 1632 Mason had become a member of the council for New England, which made all these grants and many more to other persons, and he was expending much money in taking possession of his lands in New Hampshire.

Under the original name of Strawberry Bank this settlement, planned and executed by Mason and his agents among those four dozen pioneers, included all that is now Portsmouth, Rye, New Castle, Newington, and Greenland. In all of these towns later we find descendants of William Berry. The Church of England was established and a pastor in charge, Rev. Richard Gibson, as early as 1640, when all the rest of New England seemed destined to be exclusively Puritan in religion. William Berry was one of the chief men of the colony. When the Glebe Lands were deeded the seals were placed opposite the names of Berry and John Billing, though there were twenty of the early settlers whose names appear on the document, including the governor, Francis Williams, and his assistant, Ambrose Gibbins. This deed, dated 1640, represented a parsonage for the parish and fifty acres of glebe land, twelve of which adjoined the house lot. Some of the land was on Strawberry Bank creek and can doubtless be located by survey today. The property was divided among Mason's creditors and the settlement at Portsmouth was soon in much the same condition as the other settlements of New England.
William Berry received a grant of land on the neck of land on the south side of Little river at Sandy Beach at a town meeting at Strawberry Bank, January, 1648-49. Sandy Beach was the early name for what is now Rye, New Hampshire, but Berry lived only a few years afterward. He died before June, 1654, and his widow Jane married Nathaniel Drake.
William Berry sons Joseph Berry, who was living in the adjacent town of Kittery, Maine, in 1683; and John Berry first settler in the town of Rye, then called Sandy Beach, on his father's grant of land there. He married Susannah----son John, Jr. Berry born January 14, 1659----son George Berry, was born in 1674, at Rye, New Hampshire. He lived at Rye, finally settling at Kittery. He married at Hampton, New Hampshire, January 1, 1702, Deliverance Haley, daughter of Andrew Haley--son Andrew Haley, George m. Deliverance Berry----son Major George born 1706. He removed from Kittery and Falmouth (now Portland), Maine, in 1732. He became the proprietor in Falmouth of Berry's shipyard and was evidently a shipwright by trade. He was major of the regiment of that vicinity in the Indian fights that were frequent during his younger days, and during the French and Indian war in the fifties. He married, January 11, 1726-27, Elizabeth Frink, daughter of George and Rebecca (Skilling) Frink The children of George and Elizabeth Berry were baptized at Kittery--son Lieutenant Thomas B. Berry born at Falmouth, Maine, in 1745. He was an officer in the revolution and late in life drew a pension of twenty dollars a month from the government. He was elected adjutant of Colonel Jacob French's regiment of Bristol and Cumberland counties, and he took part in the siege of Boston. He was stationed on Walnut Hill. Later in the year 1776 he was lieutenant in Captain Richard Mayberry's company of Colonel Ebenezer Francis's regiment. He resided at Brunswick and Portland, Maine, and at Rockland, where he died January 27, 1828, at the age of eighty-three years. He married at Brunswick, Maine, August 15, 1773, Abigail Coombs---son Samuel Berry born at Portland (Falmouth), Maine, May 4, 1774. He was an active, good-natured, brave and energetic man, a mason by trade. He died at Georgetown, May 18, 1851. He married 1 Mary (Polly) Gould; 2 Miss Hubbard, of Massachusetts, who died September 26, 1818; 3 Hannah Small, of Phippsburg, daughter of Samuel Small, a soldier of the revolutionary war----son Stephen Decatur, born September 16, 1818. His mother dying when he was ten days old, Stephen was taken to the home of his uncle and aunt, Mr. and Mrs. Samuel Small, of Meadow Brook, Phippsburg, where he grew to manhood. He early took to the sea and became an active and successful ship-master.  

The Knox Hotel has been in Thomaston since first constructed in 1828 by Joseph Berry for Charles Sampson “to be used for public entertainment.

Hendricks Head Lighthouse was erected on the western side of Southport Island in 1829 by Joseph Berry to guide vessels up the Sheepscot River to the shipbuilding center at Wiscasset Harbor. The original lighthouse, built at a cost of $2,662, consisted of a rectangular stone dwelling with a wooden octagonal tower protruding from one end of its pitched roof. The lantern room was of the old birdcage design, featuring a multitude of small glass panes separated by wide metal muntins. John Upham first lit the tower’s lamps on December 1, 1829.
General Joseph Berry whose ships Stephen Berry sailed, once remarked that Stephen was the most active and efficient man he ever saw on the deck of a ship. He was noted for firmness and kindness in the management of his men, and for whole-hearted friendship and generosity in his relation with friends. He died of cholera at New Orleans, Louisiana, May 24, 1852, at the age of thirty-three years, six months. The enthusiasm and affection with which older people, the friends of his youth and young manhood, now refer to his traits of character, bear testimony to their loyalty- and to his enduring memory. His remains were brought to Maine, and interred in the Georgetown burying, ground. He married Jane Mary Morse, youngest daughter of Deacon Elijah Morse, of Phippsburg, Maine, June 12, 1845. She was a descendant of William Morse, the pioneer settler, who was born in Marlborough, Wiltshire, England, in 1608. He and his brother Anthony came to America in 1635 and settled at Newbury, now Newburyport, Massachusetts. A third brother Robert, late of Elizabethtown, New Jersey, came to Boston the year before the immigration of the two other brothers and shortly afterward settled in Newbury also, but removed to New Jersey in 1637. Anthony Morse lived in Newbury till his death in 1686. William Morse married Elizabeth , about 1635, and they had ten children. He died at Newbury, November 29, 1683. Joseph Morse, fourth child of William Morse, was born at Newbury about 1644; married Mary and lived at Newbury until his death, January 15, 1678-79; they had five children. Joseph Morse, second son of Joseph Morse, was born at Newbury, July 26, 1674, and lived there; married Elizabeth Poor and had ten children; was one of the constituent members of the Third Church of Newbury in 1725 and was chosen a member of the Monthly Society by that church December 7, 1727. Daniel Morse, second son of Joseph  and Elizabeth (Poor) Morse, was born at Newbury, March 8, 1694, married Sarah Swain and they had four children. Daniel Morse, third son of Daniel and Sarah (Swain) Morse, was born about 1725-26, and baptized February 25, 1733, at the Third Church in Newbury; he married Margaret McNeil, of Irish descent, and resided in Georgetown. The birth of four children are recorded. Daniel Morse, first son of Daniel and Margaret (McNeil) Morse, was born in Massachusetts; married, 1775. Mary Wyman, of Phippsburg, then Georgetown, and they had eleven children; he owned and lived on the estate known as Morse's Mountain in Phippsburg; he died about 1839; he was a soldier in the revolutionary war. Elijah Morse, third son of Daniel Morse and Mary Wyman Morse, was born in Phippsburg about 1785; married Ann Morrison, who was of Scotch descent, daughter of Moses Morrison, a soldier in the revolution, about 1815; was for many years deacon of the Free Baptist Church of Small Point, Phippsburg--Jane Mary Morse, fifth child of Deacon Elijah Morse was born March 18, 1828, at Morse's Mountain, Phippsburg; married, June 12, 1845, Stephen D. Berry See Binders on Berry
John C Berry attended Monmouth Academy and Bowdoin College medical student. U. S. Marine Hosp., Portland; M.D., Jefferson Med. College., Phila., 1871; post-grad, study. New York, 1885, Vienna, 1894; in. Bath, Me., Apr. 10, 1872, Maria Elizabeth Gove. Apptd. med. missionary by Am. Bd. of Foreign Missions, 1871; served in Japan, 1872-3; introduced many improvements in treatment of diseases and in prison management, established hospitals and training school and was intimately identified with religious, humanitarian and educational movements of Japan for 21 yrs.; resident of Worcester, Mass., since 1896. Ophthalmic and aural surgeon Worcester City Hosp.; visiting ophthalmologist Baldwinvllle Hosp. Cottages; pres. Memorial Home for the Blind. Mem. N. E. Ophthal. Soc, Mass. Med. Soc, Am. Med. Assn., A.B.C.F.M., V.M.C.A. (director.), S.A.R. (vice-president), Worcester Economic Club (president.). Club: Congregational Lived at 7 Highland St., Worcester, Mass.
More About John Cutting Berry, M. D. and Maria Elizabeth Gove: Marriage: April 10, 1872, Bath, Maine.
Children of John Cutting Berry, M. D. and Maria Elizabeth Gove are: Edward Gove Berry, b. January 06, 1874, Kobe, JAPAN, d. January 06, 1874, Kobe, JAPAN. Evelyn Berry, b. April 22, 1876, Kobe, JAPAN, d. January 04, 1877, Kobe, JAPAN.
Katherine Fisk Berry, b. August 31, 1877, Bath, Sagadahoc, ME, d., Worcester, Worcester, MA. Gordon Berry, b. March 07, 1880, Okayama, JAPAN, d. March 17, 1953, Worcestor, Worcester, MA.
Helen Cary Berry, b. November 24, 1882, Okayama, JAPAN, d. June 18, 1960, Wellsley, Norfolk, MA. Almira Field Berry, b. April 17, 1887, Kyoto, JAPAN, d. March 31, 1901, Worcestor, Worcester, MA. From History of Worcester MA Volume 4
Gordon Berry, Physician, son of Dr. John C. Berry and Maria Elizabeth Gove, was born March 7, 1880, in Okayama, Japan, where his parents were then located as members of the Japan Mission of the American Board of Commissioners for Foreign Missions. In 1893 he came with them to the United States, where after a preliminary schooling he entered Amherst College, graduating in 1002. Deciding on a medical career he entered the University of Michigan, graduating in 1006. He then carried on the following supplementary study: Assistant in Ophthalmology, University of Michigan (1906-07); house officer in the Worcester City Hospital (1007-08I; aural house surgeon at the Massachusetts Charitable Eye and Ear Infirmary (1909-10); nose and throat house officer at the Massachusetts General Hospital (1910-11); assistant in Otology at the Harvard Medical School (1912-14); fellow in Laryngology at the Harvard Medical Graduate School (1914-18). He began the practice of his specialty (ear, nose and throat diseases) in 1911 in Worcester, Massachusetts, where he has since been. He is aural and laryngological surgeon to the Memorial Hospital, assistant aural surgeon to the Worcester City Hospital, member of the New England Otological Society, the Massachusetts Medical Society, and the American Medical Society: also member of Plymouth Church, of the Congregational Club, the Economic Club, the Worcester Tennis Club, the Worcester Country Club, and the Worcester Club. In November, 1917, he received his commission as captain in the Medical Reserve Corps.

From Gallard's Medical Journal and the American Medical Weekly Volume 35: The Latest Folly.—Medical Instruction In Japan.—A meeting under the auspices of a committee of gentlemen consisting of Bishop Stevens, Dr. D. Hayes Agnew, William Pepper and others, was held in Philadelphia, June 11th, for the purpose of inaugurating a movement looking to the establishment in Japan of a medical college, hospital and training school for nurses. The plan is largely the outcome of the efforts of Dr. John C. Berry, formerly of Maine but for the past 12 years a medical missionary in Japan. Dr. Berry explained the project at length. He estimated that to establish a permanent endowment of one professorship §45,000 would be required! Resolutions were adopted endorsing the project, and in the furtherance of the plan as contemplated a committee was appointed to confer with similar committees in other cities of this country!
From  The Oriental Review, Volume 3, Issue 6  Motosada Zumoto, Masujiro Honda 1913