Pages

Showing posts with label Hall. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Hall. Show all posts

Saturday, May 10, 2014

Cutting Family Line of Boston

Research started with Frederick L. Cutting born in Boston, Ma August 14, 1842. He was the son of Henry Cutting and Eunice Lord. Henry Cutting married first, Harriet Ardelia Fenno of Chelsea, MA. January 27, 1829.
Henry and Harriet had a daughter named Harriet A F Cutting Barker who died November 14 1865 in Sommerville.She was 31.
Henry's wife Harriet passed away on June 6, 1836  (See Records below)  Family information on Fenno line according to "Genealogical and Personal Memoirs of the Families of Boston and Eastern Massachusetts Volume 4"  Harriet's father Deacon John Fenno, son of William Fenno and Sarah Endicott, was born in Canton, January 1, 1766, died in Boston, July 26, 1835. He kept a grocery store on Hanover street, Boston, and was a deacon of the New North Church, in the time of Rev. Francis Parkman. He was the first of the Fenno family to settle in Chelsea, where he bought a large tract of land. He married, 1793, Olive Pratt, born April 10, 1770, died in Chelsea, November 24, 1856, daughter of Nehemiah Pratt and Ruth Torrey, of South Weymouth, Massachusetts. Their wedding was the first in East Boston. 

Harriet's brother Joseph Fenno erected a building in Chelsea, that part now Revere, corner of Beach street and Broadway, and has been since known as Fenno's Corner. There he conducted a mercantile business to the time of his death; was continued by his son, Joseph Henry Fenno, and by his son, Warren Fenno, and on the death of the latter, in 1905, the business was closed to settle the estate.

William Fenno an enterprising merchant of Revere, was born in North Chelsea, December 2, 1854. His father, Joseph H. Fenno, was born in Boston, June 21, 1823; and his mother, whose maiden name was Harriet E. Tewksbury, was born January 25, 1829. She was a daughter of John Tewksbury and Sarah Williams and grand-daughter of Lydia Sprague, whose father, Captain Samuel Sprague, when over sixty-two years of age, responded to the Lexington alarm and organized a company which was mustered into the Continental army. He died in Chelsea in 1783
The Fenno's original American ancestor on the paternal side was John Fenno, a farmer, who emigrated from England (from Lancashire, it is thought), and settled in Milton, Mass., in 1660. He served in King Philip's War. From him the line of descent is traced through John,2 John,3 William,4 John,5 Joseph,6 and Joseph H.,7 to Warren,8. Sarah Endicott was born on August 10, 1741, daughter of Captain James Endicott and Esther Clapp Endicott. James Endicott son of Gilbert Endicott (brother of John Endicott)



The Fenno House at Old Sturbridge Village was moved there in 1950 from its original site in the town of Canton, where it stood ouside the center village. This property was acquired by John Fenno in 1694 and either he or his son, also named John, is thought to have built the house in 1704. Photo courtesy of Historic Buildings of Massachusetts.

              Another landmark John A Fenno House Newton 

Below are two entries from Boston Papers on Harriet's death:


Henry Cutting married second wife Eunice Lord in the town of Ipswich, Massachusetts on December 30, 1792 also it is recorded in Malden Vital Records: Henry of Boston and Eunice Lord, Sept. 12, 1839. Also, next to Henry is the marriage of George W. Cutting of Weston, and Elisabeth Lord, Jan. 3, 1829. Eunice was daughter of Daniel Lord. 
Daniel Lord, son of  Aaron Lord and Hannah Lord (daughter of James Lord and Mary Fuller) married Sarah Holland (See More Lord Family Records Below) 
Children of Henry and Eunice
Henry Cutting died April 25, 1901
Francis Stanton Cutting was born on October 30 1868 in Chelsea, MA. He married Florence Davis, daughter of  Ella Florence Slade and Henry Hall Davis 
Francis and Florence had two sons Stanton  Davis Cutting and Richard F Cutting (See Below)

Ella F Slade (Davis) was was born on June 19, 1846 in Chelsea, Suffolk County, Massachusetts. She was the daughter of Levi Slade and Elizabeth Snow. She married Henry Hall Davis on January 7, 1869. She died on November 24, 1912 in Chelsea, Suffolk County, Massachusetts, at age 66. She was buried in Woodlawn Cemetery, Everett, Middlesex County, Massachusetts, Tombstone reads 'Ella A. Slade.'
Levi Slade was the son of Henry Slade and Sally Danforth
 

Levi Slade Birth 17 April 1822 in Chelsea, Massachusetts Death January 9, 1884 in Chelsea, Ma Co-founder of D.& L. Slade Spice Company. Owner and Treasurer between 1864 and 1884
From  Thursday, February 6, 1908 Paper: Boston Herald (Boston, MA) Page: 8


Mason Lodge Membership Card Francis S Cutting


This is an interesting find and from the census I gathered on all the Cutting families the help was included as members of their household This is from Boston Herald December 29 1931



Stanton Davis Cutting born February 14, 1896 in Chelsea MA. He was an athlete Draft Card Stanton Cutting


Mason Lodge Membership


Sunday, January 9, 1972 Paper: Boston Herald (Boston, MA) Page: 45


Friday, January 24, 1913 Paper: Boston Herald (Boston, MA) Page: 13






Mason Membership Card


MEMORIAL OF FREDERICK L. CUTTING as published in The weekly Underwriter Volume 79

The committee on the preparation of a memorial of the late Insurance Commissioner Cutting, of Massachusetts, presented the following, which was unanimously adopted:

We, the insurance commissioners of the United States in convention assembled, deem it fitting to adopt this memorial of Frederick Lord Cutting, our late associate in the labors of many years, as an expression of our appreciation and respect.

Frederick Lord Cutting was born to a life of service. While but a youth he enlisted at the call of President Lincoln, and bore his part with honor until the close of the war. He was frequently assigned for special duty, and did it well. His discharge from the army did not send back to the North a man of demoralized character, but one fit to stand as a man among men, one as eager to enter upon the calm pursuits of peace as he had been to do his duty in the rough turmoil of war. His first call upon arriving home was to serve in the Adjutant's General's department of bis home State, which gave him congenial employment.

But what may be called his life work was in the Massachusetts Insurance Department, to which he was soon transferred, and where he rose from clerk to Insurance Commissioner, occupying the latter position for ten years of his thirty-five years in that department of labor. His resignation took effect November 30 and his death occurred on the seventh day of the new year following.

For many years before he became commissioner he attended the meeting of this convention, and served as its secretary as long as he would consent to hold the office.

He. as deputy commissioner and then as commissioner, worked on important committees. He had no special gift for performing what may be called the ornamental functions of the convention, but in doing the sturdy homely duties which pertained thereto he was ever at the front. He had opinions which he expressed in a positive way. His honesty was rock ribbed, he was inclined to distrust compromises, and made his way rather by his force of character than by dodging to the right and left to avoid collision. He was never a seeker for public approbation, or for official preferment. It was against his will that be accepted the presidency of this convention, and in fact it required much urging to induce him to take his original appointment as Insurance Commissioner. He formed many close friendships among his fellow members of this convention, and always expressed his delight when a good official was given the reward of his faithfulness by a reappointment.

On the private and personal side he was kind, sympathetic and tender hearted, yet he had an inflexible will which kept him true to his high ideals in respect to virtue, temperance, devotion to his family and loyalty to his convictions.

His service to the business of insurance it is difficult to measure, but we do know that be stood for sound companies, honest management, full publicity and a supervision in fact as well as in name. The public is better off because Frederick L. Cutting lived, and the insurance commissioners have a worthy example to emulate.

While we mourn his loss we rejoice that we have had the benefit of his labors, known the inspiration of his presence, and felt the satisfaction of being able to point to him as "one of us." It is such men and what they stand for that gives strength and character to an organization like this, and afford a prophecy of the coming of the Kingdom of Righteousness on earth.

A resolution was adopted directing the secretary to send a copy of this memorial to the family of Mr. Cutting and to spread it on the minutes of the convention.

On Boston Record  Boston, Mass., January 21, 1908

Truly a man great in Israel was gathered to his fathers when the life of Frederick Lord Cutting was snuffed out as a candle. It seems but yesterday that this gentle autocrat sat expounding the law in the commissioner's chair. The vigor of his language was tempered by his kindly eye, and those who knew him best saw in him a man white to his heart's core, incapable of meanness, sternly just and ruggedly upright in every thought and action. He was the New England conscience personified, and jealous he was of the fair name of his beloved department. He had the weakness of his virtues— stubborn to a degree, so exacting that he leaned backward. His epitaph might well be written, "Here lies an honest man," for honest he was In thought and in action throughout his simple, upright and wholesome life.

Death Certificate of Frederick Cutting 




From Thirtieth Annual Report of the Insurance Commissioner of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts 1885 Part 1: Fire & Marine Insurance

 


From Frederick is Cutting Dies in Wellesley Veteran of Civil War and until November Chief Insurance Date: Thursday, January 9, 1908 Paper: Boston Journal (Boston, MA) Issue: 24285 Page: 2



From Wednesday, February 5, 1908 Paper: Boston Herald (Boston, MA) Page: 12


MORE ON LORD FAMILY OF IPSWICH MA:

Aaron10 Lord (Nathaniel Jr9, Nathaniel8, Robert Sr7, Robert6, Anthony5, John4, Tomas3, Hari2, William1) was born May 28, 1732 in Ipswich, Essex, MA (Source: Vital Records of Ipswich Massachusetts to the end of the year 1849, (Published by The Essex Institute, Salem, Mass, 1910).), and died March 24, 1811 in Ipswich, Essex, MA (Source: Vital Records of Ipswich Massachusetts to the end of the year 1849, (Published by The Essex Institute, Salem, Mass, 1910).). He married Hannah Lord July 01, 1754 in Ipswich, Essex, MA (Source: Vital Records of Ipswich Massachusetts to the end of the year 1849, (Published by The Essex Institute, Salem, Mass, 1910).), daughter of James Lord and Mary Fuller. She was born September 08, 1734 in Ipswich, Essex, MA (Source: Vital Records of Ipswich Massachusetts to the end of the year 1849, (Published by The Essex Institute, Salem, Mass, 1910).), and died June 29, 1812 in Ipswich, Essex, MA (Source: Vital Records of Ipswich Massachusetts to the end of the year 1849, (Published by The Essex Institute, Salem, Mass, 1910).
Aaron Lord: Tailor Will: 9 Dec., 1809 Will proved: 21 Apr., 1811
Probate Record 380:347 -- Darling Papers page 34b

Daniel11 Lord (Aaron10, Nathaniel Jr9, Nathaniel8, Robert Sr7, Robert6, Anthony5, John4, Tomas3, Hari2, William1) was born June 25, 1766 in Ipswich, Essex, MA (Source: Vital Records of Ipswich Massachusetts to the end of the year 1849, (Published by The Essex Institute, Salem, Mass, 1910), 241.), and died March 04, 1816 in Ipswich, Essex, MA (Source: Vital Records of Ipswich Massachusetts to the end of the year 1849, (Published by The Essex Institute, Salem, Mass, 1910), 616.). He married Sarah Hollond December 30, 1792 in Ipswich, Essex, MA (Source: Vital Records of Ipswich Massachusetts to the end of the year 1849, (Published by The Essex Institute, Salem, Mass, 1910), 279.), daughter of John Hollond and s.Mary Perkins She was born July 29, 1769 (Source: E.E. Fewkes, Darling Papers Volume 131, 53a.), and died October 02, 1846 in Ipswich, Essex, MA (Source: Vital Records of Ipswich Massachusetts to the end of the year 1849, (Published by The Essex Institute, Salem, Mass, 1910), 621.).  Daniel Lord: Died of jaundice--Vital Records of Ipswich, page 616
Daniel Lord and Sarah Holland parents of Eunice Lord, b. May 18, 1811, Ipswich, Essex, MA (Source: Vital Records of Ipswich Massachusetts to the end of the year 1849, (Published by The Essex Institute, Salem, Mass, 1910), 243.).

Mary Perkins born December 9 1636 daughter of  Mathew Perkins and Esther Burham.  Ipswich Town Records


Daniel Lord and Sarah Holland
Burial: Highland Cemetery Ipswich Essex County Massachusetts, USA Created by: John Glassford Record added: Dec 05, 2011 Find A Grave Memorial# 81584921

 

Captain John Holland & Mary Perkins Weskeag Village Cemetery
South Thomaston Knox County Maine, USA Created by: Andrew
Record added: Aug 04, 2010 Find A Grave Memorial# 55863151

Henry Slade Birth Aug. 18, 1791 in Chelsea, Ma Death Nov. 26,1868 in Chelsea, Ma

More on Genealogy From  

George Warren Cutting, son of Ephraim (b. East Sudbury, 1774; m. 1802; d. 1866) and Theoda Pratt Cutting, born 1805, in Roxbury; settled in Weston in 1822; bought the Jonathan P. Stearns grocery business in 1833; married 1830, Elizabeth Lord, of Medford (b. 1807; d. 1893); was postmaster from 1859 to 1885; for 52 years conducted the only grocery in Weston; held many offices within the gift of the people; was highly esteemed by the community for his great amiability and strict integrity; died 1885. Children:
Caroline Elizabeth Cutting, born 1831; married George Willis; died 1888.
Sarah Lord Cutting, born 1833; married Theodore Jones, death 1863. 

George Warren Cutting, born 1834; married Josephine M. Brown.
Harriet Fenno Cutting, born 1838; married William C. Stimpson, killed at Poplar Spring, Va., Sept. 30, 1864, 35 Reg. Mass. Vol.
Margaret Lord Cutting, born 1842; married Isaac E. Coburn; died 1907.
Emma Louisa Cutting, born 1844.
Ellen Marion Cutting, born 1846; died 1849.
Edward L. Cutting, born 1850; married Caroline Augusta Keniston.
George Warren Cutting, Jr., born 1834; married 1865, Josephine M. Brown; became associated with his father in business. In 1875 the firm bought the Lamson store, property that had been in the Lamson family for 150 years. In 1864 upon the death of Nathan Hagar (died Nov. 14, 1863), he was chosen town clerk, and has served continuously in office since. He was representative in 1889, and assessor for a number of years, a trustee of of the Merriam Fund; a highly esteemed citizen, and is now postmaster.
His children are:
Sarah Lillian Cutting, born 1866; married Arthur B. Nims.
Alfred Leslie Cutting, born 1868; married May C. Livermore.
Bessie Brown Cutting born 1874; died 1876.
George Warren Cutting (2d) born 1877.
Eleanor Mabel Cutting born 1880.
Edmund Eugene Cutting born 1882; died 1882.
Alfred Leslie Cutting, born 1868; opened a grocery store on North Ave., in 1888 and was appointed postmaster at Kendal Green when he was 21. He married 1890, May C Livermore, daughter of Charles H. Livermore and Almira Child, and became associated with his father and brother-in-law in business. He was elected a selectman in 1900 and continuously since; Representative in 1908 and re-elected for 1909. He is deservedly popular, trusted and esteemed. Corporal Henry L. Brown, Assessor, was born in 1840. David Weston Lane, Assessor, born in 1846, is Chairman of Park Commission. Henry J. White, Town Treasurer and Collector, born in 1828, has served the town as representative, assessor and selectman. His father Henry J. White came to Weston from Hallowell, Maine.
 
Cemetery-Woodlawn Cemetery Everett, Massachusetts, USA
George W Cutting and Elizabeth Lord Cutting Burial: Weston Central Cemetery

Sunday, November 10, 2013

Davenport Family Tavern & Inns



From research I have found my Davenport line had a common trend-owning taverns, inns, and other entrepreneurial enterprises. William owned the Wolfe, or Davenport's Inn in Newbury (later operated by his two sons Anthony and Moses) and step brother John Davenport two taverns in Portsmouth, NH --The Arks Inn and The Mason's Arms.

But, before them father James had a few taverns in Boston, MA. James Davenport owned the Globe Tavern, A Bunch of Grapes, and Kings Head Inn in Boston. At the Essex Institute, in Salem, is a portion of the sign which formerly hung at the " Bunch of Grapes," on State street, Boston, a famous coaching station in the days of the Boston and Providence stages. It is made of clay, moulded and baked, and is said to have been brought from England." He was not the only owner it changed hands before.

On the occasion of the victory of Stark, at Bennington, there was a grand celebration at the " Bunch of Grapes," in Boston. Early in the evening there began to arrive great numbers of the principal men in the town, as well as strangers, who happened to be "within the gates of the city" at this time. " In the street were two brass field-pieces, with a detachment of Colonel Craft's regiment." On the balcony of the town house all of the drummers and fifers in one of the regiments then in the town were posted. At a given signal the artillery commenced a salute of thirteen guns. After this the enthusiastic party assembled in the house, drank a series of toasts, following every one of which there was a salute of three guns and a shower of rockets. "About nine o'clock two barrels of grog were brought out into the street for the people that had collected there. It was all conducted with the greatest propriety, and by ten o'clock every man was at his home." Edward Field "The colonial tavern; a glimpse of New England town life in the seventeenth and eighteenth centuries." From the  Boston Gazette December 24, 1754

From The Boston Evening Post February 3, 1755


He also owned the Ebenezer Hancock House which is now a law office- the story on how it was saved by the "wrecking ball" at Swartz Law


James Davenport had 22 children and 3 wives. He was the son of Ebenezer Davenport and Dorcas Andrews. James was born in Dorchester, March 1, 1693.  From the "History of the Military Company of the Massachusetts, Now Called the Ancient and Honorable Artillery Company of Massachusetts. 1637-1888, Volume 1" with works cited below: He married, (1) Sept. 30, 1715, Grace Tileston, of Dorchester. She died Oct. 24, 1721, aged twenty-seven years, and he married, (2) May 3, 1722, Sarah, born July 9, 1699, daughter of Josiah and Abigal Folger (sister of Benjamin Franklin). She died May 23, 1731, aged thirty-two years. He married, (3) Nov. 12, 1731, Mary Walker, of Portsmouth daughter of George Walker and Rebecca Addington Davenport. James was a constable of Boston in 1725, and May 25, 1735, gave ten pounds toward the erection of the new workhouse.

In 1722, Dec. 31, he and his father-in-law, Josiah Franklin, became sureties in the sum of one hundred pounds for Brie Blare, tailor, from Martha's Vineyard, who desired to settle in Boston. In 1748, Michael Lowell advertised that his place of business was "at the corner-shop leading to Mr. James Davenports [1727] hardtack bake-house, near the sign of the Cornfields." Not long after this, Mr. Davenport (1727) changed or enlarged his business, for he appears as an innholder.
On the corner of Fleet and Ship, now North, streets, Major Savage (1637) had a house and garden. He wharfed out in front in 1643. This house, or another house on the same spot, became King's Head Tavern. It was burned down in 1691, but rebuilt. The Memorial History of Boston, Vol. II, p. ix, says, "In 1754 Davenport [1727], who had kept the Globe Tavern, petitioned to keep the Bunch of Grapes, formerly known as Castle Tavern, near Scarlets Wharf." Mr. Drake says that James Davenport (1727) kept the King's Head Tavern in 1755, and his widow in 1758. He certainly kept a public-house in 1757, for we learn from the selectmen's minutes, under date of Dec. 5, 1757, that Robert Stone, innholder, upon whom five British soldiers had been "quartered and billeted," complained to the selectmen that he had more than his share; whereupon the selectmen "removed, from his house to James Davenports [1727] at North End," three men.






King's Head Tavern, North and Lewis (or Fleet) streets. Erected in 1691, This etching was drawn from an 1855 photograph. The King's Head continued a large and flourishing hostelry until the beginning of the Revolution, when it was converted into barracks for the marines, and then taken down for fuel. Joseph Austin bought the site, and established there his large bakery. James Davenport (1727) was appointed coroner for Suffolk County, Jan. 7, 174o-1, and was first sergeant of the Artillery Company in 1732.

Administration on his estate was granted June 13, 1759. Boston Records; Davenport Genealogy; New Eng. Hist. and Gen. Reg., 1879, pp. 25-34; Drake's Old Landmarks, p. 168; Porter's Rambles in Old Boston, p. 286.

William was his first son of James and Grace Tileston born Oct. 19, 1717 and settled in Newburyport. He married Sarah, daughter of Moses Gerrish and Mary Noyes of Newburyport. He operated the original Wolfe from his home.




From "History of Newburyport, Mass., 1764-1905" Currier, John J.

Dr. Henry Coit Perkins, son of Thomas and Elizabeth (Storey) Perkins, was born in the Wolfe tavern on State street, Newburyport, November 13, 1804. He graduated at Harvard in 1824, and receiv'ed the degree of M. D. in August, 1827. On the third day of September following" he began the practice of medicine in Newburyport, and married, October 30, 1828, Harriet, daughter of John Davenport.


The Union Fire Society was organized February 28, 1783. Benjamin Frothingham, Edward Toppan, William Cross, Daniel Balch, jr., Abraham Jackson, Daniel Cofifin, Richard Pike and other well-known citizens of Newburyport were members of this association. Meetings were held usually at Wolfe Tavern.


The first meeting of the stockholders of the company was held at the house of Mr. Moses Davenport, " Wolfe Tavern," on the seventeenth day of July for the election of officers.
The taverns and inns of the were the original business Exchanges; they combined the Counting House, the Exchange-office, the Reading-room, and the Bank : each represented a locality according to Alice Morse Earle in 'Stage-coach and Tavern Days' the aristocratic eastern towns, Newburyport and Portsmouth, were represented by ship owners and ship builders, merchants of the first class."






John Davenport was born Aug. 4, 1752 and is son of James and his third wife Mary walker. He moved to Portsmouth, NH when he was very young. He lived there until his death March 28, 1842. He married first, Elizabeth Hull, of Portsmouth; m. second, widow Elizabeth Welch Pendexter, June 21, 1780; m. third, Sally Bradley, of Haverhill, MA. The intermarriages in the family here

                             /THOMAS DAVENPORT b: ABT 1640
                     /EBENEZER DAVENPORT b: 1661 d: 1738
             /JAMES DAVENPORT b: 01 MAR 1693 d: BEF 02 NOV 1758
             |       \DORCAS ANDREWS b: ABT 1660
     /JOHN DAVENPORT b: 04 AUG 1752 d: 20 MAR 1842
     |       |       /GEORGE WALKER b: ABT 1670
     |       \MARY WALKER b: BET 1707 AND 1715 d: BET 18 JAN 1759 AND 04 AUG 1762
     |               |               /RICHARD DAVENPORT b: ABT 1620
     |               |       /ELEAZER DAVENPORT b: ABT 1640 d: 1678
     |               |       |       \REBECCA ADDINGTON b: 1649
     |               \REBECCA DAVENPORT b: 1676 d: 1718
PAMELA WALKER DAVENPORT b: ABT 1790
     \ELIZABETH PENDEXTER OR WELCH b: ABT 1754 d: 03 FEB 1801






C S Brewesters "Rambles About Portsmouth"
On the opposite side of Ark Lane, on the corner of State street, stood the Ark Tavern, kept by John Davenport. It was originally a two-story single house, fronting on State street. Mr. Davenport was a silver smith and buckle maker, and had removed to Portsmouth from Boston, where he was born. He had occupied the building on the corner of Fleet and Congress streets, now owned by the Mechanic Association, and had served the town as constable several years. He made several additions to the house in State street, one of which, one-story high, covered a small gore of land on the eastern end, about eight feet in width at the widest end, in which he himself worked at his trade. A connection of Mr. Davenport's wife, (Mr. Welch,) having at Lynn acquired a knowledge of the ladies' cloth slipper manufacture, he with him commenced the making of them in copartnership; at the same time continuing the buckle making business, which soon afterwards became unprofitable by the introduction of shoe strings. Mr. Davenport then opened his premises as a public house, with the sign of Noah's Ark, and denominated his house the "Ark Tavern,"


exhibiting in front a fanciful sign of the picture of the Ark. Mr. Davenport's wife died in this house while the Superior Court was sitting in Portsmouth, in the month of February, and as his house was crowded with boarders, which made her burial very inconvenient, she was kept until the court closed its business about three weeks after. The artist who painted Mr. Davenport's sign, went by the name of James Still. His proper name was James Ford. Under his real name he had been guiltyof an offence which cost him a part of his ears. Although he dropped the Ford he did the long hair over his ears, yet as his baptismal name was not changed it remained, he said, James Still. Thus in the exercise of his good talent as a delimeator and painter he continued till the time of his death under the name of James Still.



Wife of John Davenport 
 "LADY DAVENPORT" (circa 1800) As affable lady with ready smile is seen at three-quarters length, standing beside a vase of tulips, for one of which she reaches; she clasps the stem lightly, her right forearm being extended across her body to attain the flower. Figure slightly to right, she faces front, before a conventional background of gray, brown and olive notes. She has florid cheeks and dark brown hair, and wears a low-cut gown of gray-brown satin, generously adorned with silver fringe and with frills and flounces; flowing sleeves with lace, and lace-edged corsage.

Additional Family Info: Sophia Franklin Davenport , daughter of John and Elizabeth Pendexter, married John W Abbot on July 13 1828 in Portsmouth NH. Abbot was a silversmith below is a receipt.

                                                   Receipt, 1833 Winterthur Library