Showing posts with label Ipswich. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Ipswich. Show all posts

Friday, November 7, 2014

Robert Colby and Thomas Lunt Drowned 1842

Found this death announcement for Robert Colby and Thomas Lunt both of Newburyport, but cannot find positive matches to lineage please post or email me
Thomas born May 23 1824 (son of William Lunt and Hannah Coffin) Found a Robert Jenkins Colby as possible match Spectator New York November 19 1842

Another account from the Baltimore Sun November 18, 1842
Drowned. Robert Colby, son of Joshua Colby, and Thomas Lunt, son of Joshua Lunt, of Newburyport, Mass., left that town on a gunning excursion, on a "float," on the 2d inst, and have not since been heard from. From the fact that the "float" has been found, aground and broken to pieces, it is presumed they were both drowned. They were about nineteen years of age

Saturday, May 24, 2014

The Clark-Kingsbury Home Medfield MA

Kingsbury Homestead Medfield, Massachusetts

My Grandmother, Mildred Mabel Phelps daughter of Melissa Cross Davenport and Frederick Winsor Phelps (1877-1947) grew up in this Medfield home known as the Clark-Kingsbury Farm Historic District.  
Her mother died of typhoid when Mildred was 9 months old. 
Mildred's family was living in Peterborough, New Hampshire.  Her father was working for the railroad company that the Phelps family owned. 
Mildred went to live in Medfield with her aunt Lillian Phelps Kinsbury (1869-1951) married to Allen Alanzo Kingsbury (1865-1952)

Lillian Phelps Kingsbury (1869-1951) daughter of Francis Henry Phelps (1840-1877) and Esther Antoinette Hall (1846- 1938) and husband Allan Alonzo Kingsbury (1865-1952) son of George Williamson Kingsbury (1838-1912) and Olive Atarah Smith (1839-1925)

Mildred Mabel Phelps born June 8 1909 Peterborough, NH died June 8 1995 Lynn, MA
The photo from This Old Town: The long history of Girl Scouts in Medfield shows Medfield Troop I “Red Rose” in 1920. In the top row are: Florence Johnson, Mary Kennedy, Muriel Holmes, Ruth Hunt, and Grace Wilbur. In the second row are Grace Kelly, Captain Evelyn Byng, Lucy Newell, Laura Mills, Marjorie Doane, Lieutenant Gwendolyn Morse, and Dorothy Allen.
In the third row are Ester Peterson, Frances Tubridy, Marjorie Platt, Dorothy Gardiner, Edith Mills, Marion Kelly, Threta Platt, Doris Cobb, and Mildred Weiker. Seated are Winifred Griffin, Lois Heard, Betty Crooker, Gertrude Leroux, Ruth Sauer, Mildred Phelps, and Carolyn Hamant

  Kingsbury Homestead 1931

Courtesy Theresa Knapp.

Priscilla Kingsbury with Robert Levi Berry, JR at Kingsbury Pond

Robert Levi Berry

Robert Levi Berry, Jr with his dad Robert Levi Berry, SR in Medfield at the house

Mildred Phelps, Robert Berry and Francis

              Read More about the Mystery Lady (believed to be Lillian Phelps Kingsbury)
Grave A A Kingsbury


Kinsgbury-Lord House Ipswich MA  

See Kingsbury genealogy: the genealogy of the descendants of Joseph Kingsbury of Dedham, Massachusetts, together with the descendants in several lines of Henry Kingsbury of Ipswich, Massachusetts, and our Canadian cousins

On Saturday, January 5, 1924, a fire almost completely destroyed the original church building. The Kingsbury, Greene, and Crossman memorial windows, along with the Communion silver, the old bell, some flags, the pulpit, and a few other furnishings were the only items to survive. The cause of the fire is unknown.

Joseph Kingsbury was one of the three Kingsbury brothers who sailed to America on the ship known as the Talbot which was part of a fleet of four ships under the command of Gov. John Winthrop. they set sail March 27, 1630 from Southampton, England, and arrived in Salem, Massachusetts, about July of 1630. Gov. Winthrop was not satisfied with Salem and the fleet moved down the coast eventually settling in Shawmut (now Boston). About 1635 they sent an exploring party up the Charles River and they established a settlement at Watertown. John and Joseph Kingsbury were part of this party. The community flourished and they quickly organized in what was referred to as a "Contentment" recording all events. The Kingsbury brothers were apparently of strong pioneer stock and considered Watertown too crowded. A small band of like minded individuals again used the Charles River which turned South just beyond Watertown and settled in what is now Dedham. They petitioned the General Court on 9-5-1636 for a large tract of land to form their community. The petition was granted on 9-10-1636 and the name Dedham was assigned by the court.

(NOTE: Current county boundaries have Dedham and Needham in Norfolk County, but prior to 1800 Norfolk County did not exist and all of this area was included in Suffolk County. Apparently, on 8-18-1636, before the group left Watertown, theymet at the home of John Dwight and drew up a Covenant for their political organization. John Kingsbury signed the Covenant that day, but Joseph did not sign until1637, after he arrived in Dedham. The Dedham town records for 11-1-1637 indicate that Joseph Kingsbury deeded part of his land to the town for the purpose of building a town meeting hall. In 1638 the records show that Joseph Kingsbury deeded one acre of his land abutting on High Street to the town of Dedham for a church site. A second structure for Old First Parish Church was erected on the same site at the corner of Court and high Streets in 1763. In 1819 ownership of the church passed to the Unitarians.The records go on to note that Joseph was in turn given an acre of land to replace that which he had given for the church. However, this land was rocky swamp land and the land he gave the church was prime land. Joseph held against the town fathers for some time and apparently this was the basis for a long feud between Joseph and the Church fathers. In several official writings of the church Joseph Kingsbury is noted as having a bad temperament and was not allowed into the church fellowship. For his part, Joseph appaently did not want to be part of this church body. Later Joseph was again called upon for land and he granted another acre of his land to the town for a burying place. With this in mind, there is some question as to why Joseph was buried in Norfolk. Among the records of Dedham it is noted that the first child born in the Community was Ruth Morse, born 7-3-1637 and Mary Kingsbury, born 9-1-1637 was the second. The Church of Dedham was "gathered' on 9-8-1638, but Joseph was not one of its originators. In fact, he was apparently rejected at the time because he was considered too worldly and "the Lord left him into a such a distempered passionate flying out on one of the Company that we thought him unfit for the church". This could refer back to the problems over the tract of land for the church. Millicent Kingsbury was accepted into the church on 4-24-1639 and Joseph finally admitted on 6-26-1641. In the writings of Arthur F. Kingsbury in 1912, it is interesting to note that the majority of the descendants of Joseph
Kingsbury for a period of over 275 years lived their lives within a 15 mile radius of Dedham. Joseph was apparently a skilled metal worker and mechanic, in addition to his farming endeavors. A young man who trained under him, Robert Crossman, married his daughter Sarah. In 1638 he as not admitted to the Dedham Church because he was "too much addicted to the world", but on the 9th of the 2nd month 1641 the church wa persuaded of repentance and faith and he was received. Perhaps in keeping with his long feud with the church, Joseph was buried in Norfolk Cemetery.

Will dated 22 March 1675, proved 1 June 1676, bequeaths to sons Joseph, John, Eleazer and Nathaniel, wife Millicent; daughter Sarah Crossman; son-in-law Thomas Cooper of Rehoboth; to grandchildren Elizabeth Brewer; sons-in-law Robert Crossman and Nathaniel Brewer. Refers to deceased brother John Kingsbury.

Dedham Births & Burialls recorded in Boston 1635 - 1643
Transcribed by Coralynn Brown
The Register of the Births and Burialls in DEDHAM from the Yeare 1635 unto the Yeare 1643.

Mary the daughter of Joseph Kingsbury & Millecent his wife borne 1 (7) 1637.
Elisabeth the daughter of Joseph Kingsbury & Millecent his wife was borne 14 (7) 1638.
Joseph the son of Joseph Kingsbury & Millecent his wife was borne 17 (12) 1640.

From the "Great Migration Newsletter":
Joseph Kingsberry (De): Joseph Kingsbury of whom mention was made before that he was left out of the foundation of the church for some cause there mentioned? was admitted to Dedham church on 9 April 1641 [DeChR 24-25]. On 18 July 1637, the town of Dedham authorized Ezechiell Holliman of our society to turn over his lot, as also that which he purchased of Raffe Shepheard, unto John Kingsbery & Joseph his brother? [DeTR 1:32]. On 1 September 1637, ?Mary, the daughter of Joseph & Millicent Kingsbury? was born at Dedham [De VR 1]

Built in 1755 by John Bird. It was built on 216 acres which is now known as Bird Hill. John lived in the house with his wife Mary Lyon. The land and house have both changed over the years. Some of the low areas have been filled in and high ground has been leveled. Some of the original farmland was used for a glue factory and then the land was subdivided into many different building lots in 1810 when the property was sold to John and Joseph Kingsbury.

Needham Fire Company, Hose 1, 1898. The members of Fire Company, Hose 1 sit for a portrait at the Abell Photo Studio. They are: G. Horace Pierce, Alger E. Eaton, Fred N. Mills, Edgar Pierce, Henry A. Kingsbury (Chief), Alston R. Bowers, Charles C. Barnes and H. Howard Upham.

More Family Photos of Phelps Kingsbury, Berry & Davenport

In Medfield Robert Levi Berry SR & Mildred Phelps


Mildred Phelps University of Michigan1926 Sorority

Melissa Cross Davenport Phelps

Francis Whiting Kingsbury wife of Lewis Hall Kingsbury son of Samuel and Hannah (Hall) Kingsbury of Walpole, Mass., and was born on September 28, 1814, the youngest of nine children; married Eunice A. daughter of John Aldis and Judith (Richards) Haven, of Dedham, who died in June 1882. In November, 1887, he married Frances M. Whitney. He died in Boston on December 9, 1892, as the result of an accident which occurred on the 8th, while he was there on business for the Dedham National Bank.
He received a common school education in his native town, and after following various pursuits while living in Allegheny County, New York, he came to his uncle, Mr. Hall of Framingham, and with him visited his oldest sister, Mrs. J. N. E. Mann, of Dedham, on Christmas Day, 1838. From this time he has been actively identified with Dedham history. In the spring of 1842, he became a clerk in the Registry of Deeds and continued in that capacity until September, 1844, when he was appointed as clerk in the Dedham Bank. In December, 1846, Ebenezer Fisher Jr., cashier of the bank resigned, and Mr. Kingsbury was chosen to fill his place, entering upon his duties on January 1, 1847. Upon the reorganization as a National Bank in January 1865, he was elected President to follow Dr Jeremy Stimson. In 1873 at the request of Mr. John H. B. Thayer, the retiring cashier he assumed the duties of that position, with Ezra W. Taft as president. In January, 1885, he was again elected President and continued in that ofiice until his death. For thirty years Mr. Kingsbury has served the town as Treasurer, and in all the offices which he has held, has shown marked character and ability. He was a member of the Dedham Historical Society from September 5, 1865, to the time of his death. From Dedham Historical Society Register

Charles Herbert Kingsbury son of William Prescott Kingsbury and Madeline Florence Brown

Lillian Phelps Kingsbury and Allen Alazona Kingbury Children:

Francis Henry Kingsbury (1889 - 1969)

Carlton Winsor Kingsbury (1893 - 1963)

Amos Clark Kingsbury (1897 - 1955) 


Medfield book by Richard DeSorgher now on sale Richard is Medfield's new Selectmen and local Historian

Article on Willis Phelps Railroad

Saturday, August 31, 2013

Ipswich Female Seminary

Photo from Ipswich Chronicle Wicked Local Article by Gordon Harris April 24 2014 Zilpah Grant's Female Seminary, founded in 1828, was the first institute of higher education in the country to offer teacher and missionary training for lower and middle class women.

This progressive move in academia furnished opportunities for many young women in the local community who would not have had access to a costly private academy. The seminary offered a more “vigorous curriculum” to prepare students for employment and work placement, rather than usual courses constituting “the existence for a cultured wife and homemaker.” This philosophy opposed the traditional role of women; the “Spartan-like,” disciplined atmosphere was incredibly demanding.


The core program and texts of the Ipswich Female Seminary would be used in both the institutions of Wheaton and Mount Holyoke . Mary Lyons, one of the founders, was a pioneer in the academic world. Her passion and advocacy for female education had a great impact on one Ipswich girl in particular, Eunice Caldwell.(Both Photos of Mary Lyons from Mount Holyoke College the first is by Sarah Cushing Boynton, class of 1848)
After graduating from the school, Eunice Caldwell (photo above from Wheaton College) was put on staff as a teacher from 1830 to 1835. She became Wheaton’s first principal and then associate principal at Mount Holyoke Female Seminary from 1837 to 1838. She married the Reverend John Phelps Cowles*, returned to Ipswich in 1844, and reopened the Ipswich Female Seminary, which they ran until it closed in 1876. At the end, John was blind, but still taught the classics from memory, since his Yale education provided the means to do so. The aim of the school was “to make healthy, companionable and self-reliant women.” According to Academy records, 88 of the school's graduates went on to teach as educational missionaries in the western and southern United States.

Group Portrait of Teachers Helen French (left), Julia Ward (center), Emily Wilson, and Elizabeth Blanchard (right), 1861.
Louise Manning Hodgkins of Ipswich went on to receive a B. A., was matriculated at Oxford University, and later founded the English Department at Wellesley College. She was also the editor of the Heathen Woman's Friend, a monthly magazine published by the American Woman's Foreign Missionary Society of the Methodist Episcopal Church. Photos above First Photo is from Mount Holyoke College Archives. Second photo was taken by Edward L. Darling, from the collection of William J. Barton. The young women appear to be a group of Ipswich Female Seminary students. Behind them is the High St. house owned by undertaker and upholsterer George Haskell, directly across from North Main St. (The location is now the parking lot for the Ipswich Inn.) The nearby house at 3 High Street served at that time as one of the dormitories for the Ipswich Female Seminary. Gordon Harris Stories from Ipswich
Helen Fiske Hunt Jackson graduated Ipswich Seminary daughter of Nathan Welby Fiske, a professor of languages at Amherst College, and Deborah Vinal. Good friend of Emily Dickinson and a long history of Feminism and Missionary work

Elizabeth Cady Stanton attended Ipswich Seminary famous for her politics. The second photo is with her son Henry Stanton from Susan B. Anthony Rebel, Crusader, Humanitarian by Alma Lutz Project Gutenberg

Marianne Parker Dascomb graduated Ipswich Seminary in 1833 she is front row center the group picture is Oberlin Female Moral Reform Society More info Dunbarton New Hampshire’s Pioneer Educator in Ohio: Marianne (Parker) Dascomb ( 1810-1879)

Elizabeth Storrs Mead, a graduate of Ipswich Female Seminary, became Mount Holyoke’s first non-alumna president. She led the College through enormous change; strengthening and expanding the curriculum, encouraging teachers to pursue advanced degrees, and allowing students a measure of self-government. In 1896, when the Seminary building was destroyed by fire, Mead initiated a building plan that included the construction of six residence halls, a gymnasium, the greenhouse, and a Physics and Chemistry building.
Mary Abigail Dodge, who wrote under the pseudonym "Gail Hamilton" graduated Ipswich Seminary in 1850 and taught for four years after graduation. She was from Hamilton, MA daughter James Brown Dodge and Hannah Stanwood Dodge. In 1856 she sent samples of her poetry to the antislavery publication “National Era” in Washington which impressed the editor, Gamaliel Bailey, because of her unique and individual style. She was governess to the children of Gamaliel Bailey and while in that position family promoted her.
Emily C Hodgdon attended Ipswich Seminary daughter of Stephen Bartlett and Eliza (Cook) Hodgdon For More see Emily C. Hodgdon & Thomas J. Rayner
Laura Farnum Booth daughter of Rev. Chauncey Booth and Laura Farnum attended the Ipswich Seminary with her cousin Hannah Blodget daughter of Abner Blodget and Hannah Booth of Connecticut. More info see 1835: Laura Farnum Booth to Hannah Blodget
Mary Phelps Cowles (Hall) Cummings graduated Ipswich Seminary daughter of Eunice Caldwell and Rev John Phelps Cowles, philanthropist. She was highly educated for her time and among her family, husbands and their friends were prominent figures of the day. Instructor at Mount Holyoke. Married Dr. Adino Brackett Hall, of Ipswich Photos from Woburns Environmental Network The Gift of the East

For other Cowles Family--plus Sheldon and Dodge check out Heirlooms Reunited blog 1860-1905 Autograph Album of Louisa Barr of Erie, Pennsylvania; 1861 Student at Cleveland Female Seminary, Cleveland, Ohio

In 1881 Mary married John Cummings see A Vision for Mary Cummings 

Martha Harward Skolfield (1836-1904) Fifth child of the Harward family of Bowdoinham, Maine, she attended the Ipswich Female Seminary between 1851 and 1855. Martha married Alfred in 1858. They had three daughters with him: Eugenie, Augusta Marie, and Evaline. The last was born while the family lived in Birkenhead, England and died at two years of age. Martha was a strong-willed, principled woman and managed many of the household affairs. She oversaw the selection and purchasing of furniture for the Park Row house as well as the payment of bills and the hiring of help. She made certain that her daughters learned to play the piano and to paint, aesthetic achievements which were derigueur for all proper Victorian young women. From Pejepscott Historical Society

Mary Hodgkins always praised her early education with Caldwell and the Ipswich School:  “I am sure I got my lasting habit of taking world-wide views [from the Ipswich Female Seminary]. Mr. Cowles was in the habit of giving us questions to be answered in chapel, about once a week, that sent us early to the study of Plutarch, Rollin, English History and Literature, and no one was more keen than I to find the answers to such questions as: 'Who was the Man with the Iron Mask?' … 'What were the Seven Wonders of the World?' … 'Where is the Singing Statue of Memnon?' Little I dreamed then that I should see all the places, nearly associated with these historic questions, but I can never be too grateful for the form of outlook she imparted.”

“These loved and venerated teachers still live, and long may the pen lie idle that must one day trace their noble lineaments through the mists of memory. Not often is it given to such a mind as Ellen's to come under the tender training of two such minds as theirs – minds differing as widely from each other as one star differeth from another star in glory, but always two stars, brilliant, high, shining only with a more serene and soft, but not less splendid luster.” – Ellen Chapman Hobbs, student from New England Bygones by E. H. Arr. Eunice remained actively involved in the Essex North Branch of the Women's Board of Foreign Missions for over 24 years, and she served as president for the last three. When she passed, WBFM’s Life and Light wrote a wonderful dedication to this amazing woman who rallied for the betterment of her sisters in her homeland, but also “gave of her mind and soul and money to the promotion of the work of women for women the world over. Her presence exercising her brilliant gifts, and with her own zeal kindling in other hearts fires of zeal which have continued to burn.”

*Rev. John Phelps Cowles
John Phelps Cowles, son of Samuel and Olive (Phelps) Cowles, was born in Colebrook, Conn., January 21, 1805. He entered Yale college in 1821 and graduated at the head of his class in 1826. He studied theology in the Yale Divinity School, under Dr. Taylor, and remained in New Haven after graduating and assisted in the preparation of Webster's Dictionary. He was licensed to preach in June, 1832, and was ordained pastor of the Congregational church in Princeton, Mass., June 18, 1833. He resigned this position December 18, 1834, and went to Oberlin, Ohio, with his brother Henry, soon after Oberlin college was established, and in February, 1836, was appointed to the professorship of the languages and literature of the Old Testament in that institution. He was married, October 16, 1838, to Eunice Caldwell, of Ipswich, Mass. 
In October, 1839, he resigned his position in Oberlin college and in March, 1840, was appointed principal of an academy in Elyria, Ohio. Resigning there in April, 1844, ne, with his wife, assumed the charge of the Ipswich (Mass.) Female Seminary, where he remained until over seventy years of age, in full and active work, though blind the last twenty years. He lost his eye-sight in 1855, but retained the possession of all his other faculties until near the time of his death, which occurred from heart failure, March II, 1890, at Ipswich, Mass.
He was a patient, conscientious teacher, and did much to advance the higher education of women, giving to many of those whom his reputation for scholarship drew around him the equivalent of the best part of a college education, long before a college for women was established. He was interested in the work of the American Institute of Instruction, attending its meetings when practicable, and, in 1850, lectured at its annual meeting. During his thirty-five years of darkness, his calm fortitude and untiring patience were silent but efficient lessons, which have become a precious legacy to his widow, his four surviving children, and many friends.
From The Annual Meeting of the American Institute of Instruction, Volume 61 Children Of Eunice and John: Mary Phelps, Roxanna Caldwell, John Phelps, Henry Augustine, and Susan Abby Rice. 

Jun 1, 1943 2pm in Buckland. "Hi, We're having wonderful weather for our short vacation. Can't wait to get home to get weighed and sigh at how much I've gained. Love Alice"

Thursday, March 19, 1846  Boston Recorder (Boston, Massachusetts)