Showing posts with label Lord. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Lord. Show all posts

Thursday, September 21, 2017

Dr Henry Irwin Durgin of Eliot Maine

Dr Henry Irwin Durgin (1864-1939) son of of Joshua Durgin and Mary Elizabeth Kennison, grandson of John Kennison and Mary Thurston, great-grandson of Oliver Kennison and Anstress Cross great grandson of Oliver Thurston 
A National Register of the Society, Sons of the American Revolution, Volume 1 Sons of the American Revolution, Louis Henry Cornish, Alonzo Howard Clark Page 480. Henry married Alta May Knox (1864-1945) daughter of Ira S Knox and Susan Abby Pinkham, granddaughter of John Knox and Betsey Lord, great granddaughter of Samuel Knox and Sally Gerrish daughter og George Gerrish and Mary James. 

Durgin Home, Eliot, 1910 Located on State Road, home belonged to the prominent local physician Dr. Henry Durgin. Dr. Durgin came to Eliot in 1889 and remained very active in town affairs throughout his life, serving on the Centennial Committee, the WWI memorial chairman, and later Superintendent of Schools. Photo From Maine Memory Network

Saturday, May 24, 2014

The Clark-Kingsbury Home Medfield MA

Kingsbury Homestead Medfield, Massachusetts

My Grandmother, Mildred Mabel Phelps daughter of Melissa Cross Davenport and Frederick Winsor Phelps (1877-1947) grew up in this Medfield home known as the Clark-Kingsbury Farm Historic District.  
Her mother died of typhoid when Mildred was 9 months old. 
Mildred's family was living in Peterborough, New Hampshire.  Her father was working for the railroad company that the Phelps family owned. 
Mildred went to live in Medfield with her aunt Lillian Phelps Kinsbury (1869-1951) married to Allen Alanzo Kingsbury (1865-1952)

Lillian Phelps Kingsbury (1869-1951) daughter of Francis Henry Phelps (1840-1877) and Esther Antoinette Hall (1846- 1938) and husband Allan Alonzo Kingsbury (1865-1952) son of George Williamson Kingsbury (1838-1912) and Olive Atarah Smith (1839-1925)

Mildred Mabel Phelps born June 8 1909 Peterborough, NH died June 8 1995 Lynn, MA
The photo from This Old Town: The long history of Girl Scouts in Medfield shows Medfield Troop I “Red Rose” in 1920. In the top row are: Florence Johnson, Mary Kennedy, Muriel Holmes, Ruth Hunt, and Grace Wilbur. In the second row are Grace Kelly, Captain Evelyn Byng, Lucy Newell, Laura Mills, Marjorie Doane, Lieutenant Gwendolyn Morse, and Dorothy Allen.
In the third row are Ester Peterson, Frances Tubridy, Marjorie Platt, Dorothy Gardiner, Edith Mills, Marion Kelly, Threta Platt, Doris Cobb, and Mildred Weiker. Seated are Winifred Griffin, Lois Heard, Betty Crooker, Gertrude Leroux, Ruth Sauer, Mildred Phelps, and Carolyn Hamant

  Kingsbury Homestead 1931

Courtesy Theresa Knapp.

Priscilla Kingsbury with Robert Levi Berry, JR at Kingsbury Pond

Robert Levi Berry

Robert Levi Berry, Jr with his dad Robert Levi Berry, SR in Medfield at the house

Mildred Phelps, Robert Berry and Francis

              Read More about the Mystery Lady (believed to be Lillian Phelps Kingsbury)
Grave A A Kingsbury


Kinsgbury-Lord House Ipswich MA  

See Kingsbury genealogy: the genealogy of the descendants of Joseph Kingsbury of Dedham, Massachusetts, together with the descendants in several lines of Henry Kingsbury of Ipswich, Massachusetts, and our Canadian cousins

On Saturday, January 5, 1924, a fire almost completely destroyed the original church building. The Kingsbury, Greene, and Crossman memorial windows, along with the Communion silver, the old bell, some flags, the pulpit, and a few other furnishings were the only items to survive. The cause of the fire is unknown.

Joseph Kingsbury was one of the three Kingsbury brothers who sailed to America on the ship known as the Talbot which was part of a fleet of four ships under the command of Gov. John Winthrop. they set sail March 27, 1630 from Southampton, England, and arrived in Salem, Massachusetts, about July of 1630. Gov. Winthrop was not satisfied with Salem and the fleet moved down the coast eventually settling in Shawmut (now Boston). About 1635 they sent an exploring party up the Charles River and they established a settlement at Watertown. John and Joseph Kingsbury were part of this party. The community flourished and they quickly organized in what was referred to as a "Contentment" recording all events. The Kingsbury brothers were apparently of strong pioneer stock and considered Watertown too crowded. A small band of like minded individuals again used the Charles River which turned South just beyond Watertown and settled in what is now Dedham. They petitioned the General Court on 9-5-1636 for a large tract of land to form their community. The petition was granted on 9-10-1636 and the name Dedham was assigned by the court.

(NOTE: Current county boundaries have Dedham and Needham in Norfolk County, but prior to 1800 Norfolk County did not exist and all of this area was included in Suffolk County. Apparently, on 8-18-1636, before the group left Watertown, theymet at the home of John Dwight and drew up a Covenant for their political organization. John Kingsbury signed the Covenant that day, but Joseph did not sign until1637, after he arrived in Dedham. The Dedham town records for 11-1-1637 indicate that Joseph Kingsbury deeded part of his land to the town for the purpose of building a town meeting hall. In 1638 the records show that Joseph Kingsbury deeded one acre of his land abutting on High Street to the town of Dedham for a church site. A second structure for Old First Parish Church was erected on the same site at the corner of Court and high Streets in 1763. In 1819 ownership of the church passed to the Unitarians.The records go on to note that Joseph was in turn given an acre of land to replace that which he had given for the church. However, this land was rocky swamp land and the land he gave the church was prime land. Joseph held against the town fathers for some time and apparently this was the basis for a long feud between Joseph and the Church fathers. In several official writings of the church Joseph Kingsbury is noted as having a bad temperament and was not allowed into the church fellowship. For his part, Joseph appaently did not want to be part of this church body. Later Joseph was again called upon for land and he granted another acre of his land to the town for a burying place. With this in mind, there is some question as to why Joseph was buried in Norfolk. Among the records of Dedham it is noted that the first child born in the Community was Ruth Morse, born 7-3-1637 and Mary Kingsbury, born 9-1-1637 was the second. The Church of Dedham was "gathered' on 9-8-1638, but Joseph was not one of its originators. In fact, he was apparently rejected at the time because he was considered too worldly and "the Lord left him into a such a distempered passionate flying out on one of the Company that we thought him unfit for the church". This could refer back to the problems over the tract of land for the church. Millicent Kingsbury was accepted into the church on 4-24-1639 and Joseph finally admitted on 6-26-1641. In the writings of Arthur F. Kingsbury in 1912, it is interesting to note that the majority of the descendants of Joseph
Kingsbury for a period of over 275 years lived their lives within a 15 mile radius of Dedham. Joseph was apparently a skilled metal worker and mechanic, in addition to his farming endeavors. A young man who trained under him, Robert Crossman, married his daughter Sarah. In 1638 he as not admitted to the Dedham Church because he was "too much addicted to the world", but on the 9th of the 2nd month 1641 the church wa persuaded of repentance and faith and he was received. Perhaps in keeping with his long feud with the church, Joseph was buried in Norfolk Cemetery.

Will dated 22 March 1675, proved 1 June 1676, bequeaths to sons Joseph, John, Eleazer and Nathaniel, wife Millicent; daughter Sarah Crossman; son-in-law Thomas Cooper of Rehoboth; to grandchildren Elizabeth Brewer; sons-in-law Robert Crossman and Nathaniel Brewer. Refers to deceased brother John Kingsbury.

Dedham Births & Burialls recorded in Boston 1635 - 1643
Transcribed by Coralynn Brown
The Register of the Births and Burialls in DEDHAM from the Yeare 1635 unto the Yeare 1643.

Mary the daughter of Joseph Kingsbury & Millecent his wife borne 1 (7) 1637.
Elisabeth the daughter of Joseph Kingsbury & Millecent his wife was borne 14 (7) 1638.
Joseph the son of Joseph Kingsbury & Millecent his wife was borne 17 (12) 1640.

From the "Great Migration Newsletter":
Joseph Kingsberry (De): Joseph Kingsbury of whom mention was made before that he was left out of the foundation of the church for some cause there mentioned? was admitted to Dedham church on 9 April 1641 [DeChR 24-25]. On 18 July 1637, the town of Dedham authorized Ezechiell Holliman of our society to turn over his lot, as also that which he purchased of Raffe Shepheard, unto John Kingsbery & Joseph his brother? [DeTR 1:32]. On 1 September 1637, ?Mary, the daughter of Joseph & Millicent Kingsbury? was born at Dedham [De VR 1]

Built in 1755 by John Bird. It was built on 216 acres which is now known as Bird Hill. John lived in the house with his wife Mary Lyon. The land and house have both changed over the years. Some of the low areas have been filled in and high ground has been leveled. Some of the original farmland was used for a glue factory and then the land was subdivided into many different building lots in 1810 when the property was sold to John and Joseph Kingsbury.

Needham Fire Company, Hose 1, 1898. The members of Fire Company, Hose 1 sit for a portrait at the Abell Photo Studio. They are: G. Horace Pierce, Alger E. Eaton, Fred N. Mills, Edgar Pierce, Henry A. Kingsbury (Chief), Alston R. Bowers, Charles C. Barnes and H. Howard Upham.

More Family Photos of Phelps Kingsbury, Berry & Davenport

In Medfield Robert Levi Berry SR & Mildred Phelps


Mildred Phelps University of Michigan1926 Sorority

Melissa Cross Davenport Phelps

Francis Whiting Kingsbury wife of Lewis Hall Kingsbury son of Samuel and Hannah (Hall) Kingsbury of Walpole, Mass., and was born on September 28, 1814, the youngest of nine children; married Eunice A. daughter of John Aldis and Judith (Richards) Haven, of Dedham, who died in June 1882. In November, 1887, he married Frances M. Whitney. He died in Boston on December 9, 1892, as the result of an accident which occurred on the 8th, while he was there on business for the Dedham National Bank.
He received a common school education in his native town, and after following various pursuits while living in Allegheny County, New York, he came to his uncle, Mr. Hall of Framingham, and with him visited his oldest sister, Mrs. J. N. E. Mann, of Dedham, on Christmas Day, 1838. From this time he has been actively identified with Dedham history. In the spring of 1842, he became a clerk in the Registry of Deeds and continued in that capacity until September, 1844, when he was appointed as clerk in the Dedham Bank. In December, 1846, Ebenezer Fisher Jr., cashier of the bank resigned, and Mr. Kingsbury was chosen to fill his place, entering upon his duties on January 1, 1847. Upon the reorganization as a National Bank in January 1865, he was elected President to follow Dr Jeremy Stimson. In 1873 at the request of Mr. John H. B. Thayer, the retiring cashier he assumed the duties of that position, with Ezra W. Taft as president. In January, 1885, he was again elected President and continued in that ofiice until his death. For thirty years Mr. Kingsbury has served the town as Treasurer, and in all the offices which he has held, has shown marked character and ability. He was a member of the Dedham Historical Society from September 5, 1865, to the time of his death. From Dedham Historical Society Register

Charles Herbert Kingsbury son of William Prescott Kingsbury and Madeline Florence Brown

Lillian Phelps Kingsbury and Allen Alazona Kingbury Children:

Francis Henry Kingsbury (1889 - 1969)

Carlton Winsor Kingsbury (1893 - 1963)

Amos Clark Kingsbury (1897 - 1955) 


Medfield book by Richard DeSorgher now on sale Richard is Medfield's new Selectmen and local Historian

Article on Willis Phelps Railroad

Saturday, May 10, 2014

Cutting Family Line of Boston

Research started with Frederick L. Cutting born in Boston, Ma August 14, 1842. He was the son of Henry Cutting and Eunice Lord. Henry Cutting married first, Harriet Ardelia Fenno of Chelsea, MA. January 27, 1829.
Henry and Harriet had a daughter named Harriet A F Cutting Barker who died November 14 1865 in Sommerville.She was 31.
Henry's wife Harriet passed away on June 6, 1836  (See Records below)  Family information on Fenno line according to "Genealogical and Personal Memoirs of the Families of Boston and Eastern Massachusetts Volume 4"  Harriet's father Deacon John Fenno, son of William Fenno and Sarah Endicott, was born in Canton, January 1, 1766, died in Boston, July 26, 1835. He kept a grocery store on Hanover street, Boston, and was a deacon of the New North Church, in the time of Rev. Francis Parkman. He was the first of the Fenno family to settle in Chelsea, where he bought a large tract of land. He married, 1793, Olive Pratt, born April 10, 1770, died in Chelsea, November 24, 1856, daughter of Nehemiah Pratt and Ruth Torrey, of South Weymouth, Massachusetts. Their wedding was the first in East Boston. 

Harriet's brother Joseph Fenno erected a building in Chelsea, that part now Revere, corner of Beach street and Broadway, and has been since known as Fenno's Corner. There he conducted a mercantile business to the time of his death; was continued by his son, Joseph Henry Fenno, and by his son, Warren Fenno, and on the death of the latter, in 1905, the business was closed to settle the estate.

William Fenno an enterprising merchant of Revere, was born in North Chelsea, December 2, 1854. His father, Joseph H. Fenno, was born in Boston, June 21, 1823; and his mother, whose maiden name was Harriet E. Tewksbury, was born January 25, 1829. She was a daughter of John Tewksbury and Sarah Williams and grand-daughter of Lydia Sprague, whose father, Captain Samuel Sprague, when over sixty-two years of age, responded to the Lexington alarm and organized a company which was mustered into the Continental army. He died in Chelsea in 1783
The Fenno's original American ancestor on the paternal side was John Fenno, a farmer, who emigrated from England (from Lancashire, it is thought), and settled in Milton, Mass., in 1660. He served in King Philip's War. From him the line of descent is traced through John,2 John,3 William,4 John,5 Joseph,6 and Joseph H.,7 to Warren,8. Sarah Endicott was born on August 10, 1741, daughter of Captain James Endicott and Esther Clapp Endicott. James Endicott son of Gilbert Endicott (brother of John Endicott)

The Fenno House at Old Sturbridge Village was moved there in 1950 from its original site in the town of Canton, where it stood ouside the center village. This property was acquired by John Fenno in 1694 and either he or his son, also named John, is thought to have built the house in 1704. Photo courtesy of Historic Buildings of Massachusetts.

              Another landmark John A Fenno House Newton 

Below are two entries from Boston Papers on Harriet's death:

Henry Cutting married second wife Eunice Lord in the town of Ipswich, Massachusetts on December 30, 1792 also it is recorded in Malden Vital Records: Henry of Boston and Eunice Lord, Sept. 12, 1839. Also, next to Henry is the marriage of George W. Cutting of Weston, and Elisabeth Lord, Jan. 3, 1829. Eunice was daughter of Daniel Lord. 
Daniel Lord, son of  Aaron Lord and Hannah Lord (daughter of James Lord and Mary Fuller) married Sarah Holland (See More Lord Family Records Below) 
Children of Henry and Eunice
Henry Cutting died April 25, 1901
Francis Stanton Cutting was born on October 30 1868 in Chelsea, MA. He married Florence Davis, daughter of  Ella Florence Slade and Henry Hall Davis 
Francis and Florence had two sons Stanton  Davis Cutting and Richard F Cutting (See Below)

Ella F Slade (Davis) was was born on June 19, 1846 in Chelsea, Suffolk County, Massachusetts. She was the daughter of Levi Slade and Elizabeth Snow. She married Henry Hall Davis on January 7, 1869. She died on November 24, 1912 in Chelsea, Suffolk County, Massachusetts, at age 66. She was buried in Woodlawn Cemetery, Everett, Middlesex County, Massachusetts, Tombstone reads 'Ella A. Slade.'
Levi Slade was the son of Henry Slade and Sally Danforth

Levi Slade Birth 17 April 1822 in Chelsea, Massachusetts Death January 9, 1884 in Chelsea, Ma Co-founder of D.& L. Slade Spice Company. Owner and Treasurer between 1864 and 1884
From  Thursday, February 6, 1908 Paper: Boston Herald (Boston, MA) Page: 8

Mason Lodge Membership Card Francis S Cutting

This is an interesting find and from the census I gathered on all the Cutting families the help was included as members of their household This is from Boston Herald December 29 1931

Stanton Davis Cutting born February 14, 1896 in Chelsea MA. He was an athlete Draft Card Stanton Cutting

Mason Lodge Membership

Sunday, January 9, 1972 Paper: Boston Herald (Boston, MA) Page: 45

Friday, January 24, 1913 Paper: Boston Herald (Boston, MA) Page: 13

Mason Membership Card

MEMORIAL OF FREDERICK L. CUTTING as published in The weekly Underwriter Volume 79

The committee on the preparation of a memorial of the late Insurance Commissioner Cutting, of Massachusetts, presented the following, which was unanimously adopted:

We, the insurance commissioners of the United States in convention assembled, deem it fitting to adopt this memorial of Frederick Lord Cutting, our late associate in the labors of many years, as an expression of our appreciation and respect.

Frederick Lord Cutting was born to a life of service. While but a youth he enlisted at the call of President Lincoln, and bore his part with honor until the close of the war. He was frequently assigned for special duty, and did it well. His discharge from the army did not send back to the North a man of demoralized character, but one fit to stand as a man among men, one as eager to enter upon the calm pursuits of peace as he had been to do his duty in the rough turmoil of war. His first call upon arriving home was to serve in the Adjutant's General's department of bis home State, which gave him congenial employment.

But what may be called his life work was in the Massachusetts Insurance Department, to which he was soon transferred, and where he rose from clerk to Insurance Commissioner, occupying the latter position for ten years of his thirty-five years in that department of labor. His resignation took effect November 30 and his death occurred on the seventh day of the new year following.

For many years before he became commissioner he attended the meeting of this convention, and served as its secretary as long as he would consent to hold the office.

He. as deputy commissioner and then as commissioner, worked on important committees. He had no special gift for performing what may be called the ornamental functions of the convention, but in doing the sturdy homely duties which pertained thereto he was ever at the front. He had opinions which he expressed in a positive way. His honesty was rock ribbed, he was inclined to distrust compromises, and made his way rather by his force of character than by dodging to the right and left to avoid collision. He was never a seeker for public approbation, or for official preferment. It was against his will that be accepted the presidency of this convention, and in fact it required much urging to induce him to take his original appointment as Insurance Commissioner. He formed many close friendships among his fellow members of this convention, and always expressed his delight when a good official was given the reward of his faithfulness by a reappointment.

On the private and personal side he was kind, sympathetic and tender hearted, yet he had an inflexible will which kept him true to his high ideals in respect to virtue, temperance, devotion to his family and loyalty to his convictions.

His service to the business of insurance it is difficult to measure, but we do know that be stood for sound companies, honest management, full publicity and a supervision in fact as well as in name. The public is better off because Frederick L. Cutting lived, and the insurance commissioners have a worthy example to emulate.

While we mourn his loss we rejoice that we have had the benefit of his labors, known the inspiration of his presence, and felt the satisfaction of being able to point to him as "one of us." It is such men and what they stand for that gives strength and character to an organization like this, and afford a prophecy of the coming of the Kingdom of Righteousness on earth.

A resolution was adopted directing the secretary to send a copy of this memorial to the family of Mr. Cutting and to spread it on the minutes of the convention.

On Boston Record  Boston, Mass., January 21, 1908

Truly a man great in Israel was gathered to his fathers when the life of Frederick Lord Cutting was snuffed out as a candle. It seems but yesterday that this gentle autocrat sat expounding the law in the commissioner's chair. The vigor of his language was tempered by his kindly eye, and those who knew him best saw in him a man white to his heart's core, incapable of meanness, sternly just and ruggedly upright in every thought and action. He was the New England conscience personified, and jealous he was of the fair name of his beloved department. He had the weakness of his virtues— stubborn to a degree, so exacting that he leaned backward. His epitaph might well be written, "Here lies an honest man," for honest he was In thought and in action throughout his simple, upright and wholesome life.

Death Certificate of Frederick Cutting 

From Thirtieth Annual Report of the Insurance Commissioner of the Commonwealth of Massachusetts 1885 Part 1: Fire & Marine Insurance


From Frederick is Cutting Dies in Wellesley Veteran of Civil War and until November Chief Insurance Date: Thursday, January 9, 1908 Paper: Boston Journal (Boston, MA) Issue: 24285 Page: 2

From Wednesday, February 5, 1908 Paper: Boston Herald (Boston, MA) Page: 12


Aaron10 Lord (Nathaniel Jr9, Nathaniel8, Robert Sr7, Robert6, Anthony5, John4, Tomas3, Hari2, William1) was born May 28, 1732 in Ipswich, Essex, MA (Source: Vital Records of Ipswich Massachusetts to the end of the year 1849, (Published by The Essex Institute, Salem, Mass, 1910).), and died March 24, 1811 in Ipswich, Essex, MA (Source: Vital Records of Ipswich Massachusetts to the end of the year 1849, (Published by The Essex Institute, Salem, Mass, 1910).). He married Hannah Lord July 01, 1754 in Ipswich, Essex, MA (Source: Vital Records of Ipswich Massachusetts to the end of the year 1849, (Published by The Essex Institute, Salem, Mass, 1910).), daughter of James Lord and Mary Fuller. She was born September 08, 1734 in Ipswich, Essex, MA (Source: Vital Records of Ipswich Massachusetts to the end of the year 1849, (Published by The Essex Institute, Salem, Mass, 1910).), and died June 29, 1812 in Ipswich, Essex, MA (Source: Vital Records of Ipswich Massachusetts to the end of the year 1849, (Published by The Essex Institute, Salem, Mass, 1910).
Aaron Lord: Tailor Will: 9 Dec., 1809 Will proved: 21 Apr., 1811
Probate Record 380:347 -- Darling Papers page 34b

Daniel11 Lord (Aaron10, Nathaniel Jr9, Nathaniel8, Robert Sr7, Robert6, Anthony5, John4, Tomas3, Hari2, William1) was born June 25, 1766 in Ipswich, Essex, MA (Source: Vital Records of Ipswich Massachusetts to the end of the year 1849, (Published by The Essex Institute, Salem, Mass, 1910), 241.), and died March 04, 1816 in Ipswich, Essex, MA (Source: Vital Records of Ipswich Massachusetts to the end of the year 1849, (Published by The Essex Institute, Salem, Mass, 1910), 616.). He married Sarah Hollond December 30, 1792 in Ipswich, Essex, MA (Source: Vital Records of Ipswich Massachusetts to the end of the year 1849, (Published by The Essex Institute, Salem, Mass, 1910), 279.), daughter of John Hollond and s.Mary Perkins She was born July 29, 1769 (Source: E.E. Fewkes, Darling Papers Volume 131, 53a.), and died October 02, 1846 in Ipswich, Essex, MA (Source: Vital Records of Ipswich Massachusetts to the end of the year 1849, (Published by The Essex Institute, Salem, Mass, 1910), 621.).  Daniel Lord: Died of jaundice--Vital Records of Ipswich, page 616
Daniel Lord and Sarah Holland parents of Eunice Lord, b. May 18, 1811, Ipswich, Essex, MA (Source: Vital Records of Ipswich Massachusetts to the end of the year 1849, (Published by The Essex Institute, Salem, Mass, 1910), 243.).

Mary Perkins born December 9 1636 daughter of  Mathew Perkins and Esther Burham.  Ipswich Town Records

Daniel Lord and Sarah Holland
Burial: Highland Cemetery Ipswich Essex County Massachusetts, USA Created by: John Glassford Record added: Dec 05, 2011 Find A Grave Memorial# 81584921


Captain John Holland & Mary Perkins Weskeag Village Cemetery
South Thomaston Knox County Maine, USA Created by: Andrew
Record added: Aug 04, 2010 Find A Grave Memorial# 55863151

Henry Slade Birth Aug. 18, 1791 in Chelsea, Ma Death Nov. 26,1868 in Chelsea, Ma

More on Genealogy From  

George Warren Cutting, son of Ephraim (b. East Sudbury, 1774; m. 1802; d. 1866) and Theoda Pratt Cutting, born 1805, in Roxbury; settled in Weston in 1822; bought the Jonathan P. Stearns grocery business in 1833; married 1830, Elizabeth Lord, of Medford (b. 1807; d. 1893); was postmaster from 1859 to 1885; for 52 years conducted the only grocery in Weston; held many offices within the gift of the people; was highly esteemed by the community for his great amiability and strict integrity; died 1885. Children:
Caroline Elizabeth Cutting, born 1831; married George Willis; died 1888.
Sarah Lord Cutting, born 1833; married Theodore Jones, death 1863. 

George Warren Cutting, born 1834; married Josephine M. Brown.
Harriet Fenno Cutting, born 1838; married William C. Stimpson, killed at Poplar Spring, Va., Sept. 30, 1864, 35 Reg. Mass. Vol.
Margaret Lord Cutting, born 1842; married Isaac E. Coburn; died 1907.
Emma Louisa Cutting, born 1844.
Ellen Marion Cutting, born 1846; died 1849.
Edward L. Cutting, born 1850; married Caroline Augusta Keniston.
George Warren Cutting, Jr., born 1834; married 1865, Josephine M. Brown; became associated with his father in business. In 1875 the firm bought the Lamson store, property that had been in the Lamson family for 150 years. In 1864 upon the death of Nathan Hagar (died Nov. 14, 1863), he was chosen town clerk, and has served continuously in office since. He was representative in 1889, and assessor for a number of years, a trustee of of the Merriam Fund; a highly esteemed citizen, and is now postmaster.
His children are:
Sarah Lillian Cutting, born 1866; married Arthur B. Nims.
Alfred Leslie Cutting, born 1868; married May C. Livermore.
Bessie Brown Cutting born 1874; died 1876.
George Warren Cutting (2d) born 1877.
Eleanor Mabel Cutting born 1880.
Edmund Eugene Cutting born 1882; died 1882.
Alfred Leslie Cutting, born 1868; opened a grocery store on North Ave., in 1888 and was appointed postmaster at Kendal Green when he was 21. He married 1890, May C Livermore, daughter of Charles H. Livermore and Almira Child, and became associated with his father and brother-in-law in business. He was elected a selectman in 1900 and continuously since; Representative in 1908 and re-elected for 1909. He is deservedly popular, trusted and esteemed. Corporal Henry L. Brown, Assessor, was born in 1840. David Weston Lane, Assessor, born in 1846, is Chairman of Park Commission. Henry J. White, Town Treasurer and Collector, born in 1828, has served the town as representative, assessor and selectman. His father Henry J. White came to Weston from Hallowell, Maine.
Cemetery-Woodlawn Cemetery Everett, Massachusetts, USA
George W Cutting and Elizabeth Lord Cutting Burial: Weston Central Cemetery