Showing posts with label Moulton. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Moulton. Show all posts

Monday, August 18, 2014

Henry Travis early settler of Newbury MA and His Descendants

Photo from Nathan Hager Daniels 
Henry Travers came from London in the ship "Mary and John," (Ladd Family Genealogy has passenger list) of London, Robert Sayers Master, "early in 1634," and from the old Book of Orders, belonging to the Port of Southampton, the following was copied. This book was in the Custom House in Portsmouth, N. H., Dec. 6, 1745, and the copy is upon the records of Newbury.

Photo from Emery FamilyResearch Association

Passengers came to Agawam [Ipswich], and staid there one year. In 1635 some settled in Quascacunquen, now Newbury. In the records of the First Parish of Newbury is this entry:—"Granted to Henry Travers 6 Acres of Salt Marsh, be it more or less, in the Great Marsh, being bounded by William Moody on the west, and the Common on the east, north and south." He was also granted a house lot of half an acre near the First Landing Place, bounded by John Cheney south, highway north, The Green west and Merrimack east. Also 4 acres bounded by John Emery on the south and by Anthony Emery north, John Moulton west and the Merrimack Street east. The Merrimack Street was evidently changed, as litigation followed, and Henry Travers was granted an extension eastward. He also exchangedhis house lot at the old town, on Little Hill, for four acres at the new town, on South Merrimack Street. 

No record has been found giving the date of his marriage to Bridgett, whose maiden name was Fitts, and who was probably a sister of Robert Fitts, who was in Salisbury in 1640, and removed to Ipswich, where he died in 1665, leaving a widow, Grace, and two or more children. Neither has any evidence been found that Henry had a wife previous to his marriage to Bridgett; yet he may have had a wife in England before coming to America in 1634. Some writer has said that Bridgett was his second wife. See Fitts families: Fitts-Fitz-Fittz : a genealogy Sylvia Fitts Getchell
Below is from  Descendants of Henry Travers of London, England and Newbury, Massachusetts, U.S.A.
Click link and there are several generations listed. Some may have been modified or corrected, but this source is pretty in depth.

See also A collection of pedigrees of the family of Travers, abstracts of documents, collected by S.S. Travers, arranged by H.J. Sides by Samuel Smith Travers
Some descendants of Edmund Mooers 1614-1677 of Newbury, Massachusetts: frontier experiences of Calvin Mooers, Allied lines of Edmund Mooers, Royal line of James Prescott, coats of arms and letters

Friday, April 18, 2014

Austn Quinby & USS Kearsarge

Compiled by Melissa D Berry, Dr, John McAleer and his sons Sergeant Andrew McAleer and in honor of the 150th Anniversary of the USS Kearsarge brave men who fought.this is part of a series.
Corporal Austin Quinby, USMC
Photograph taken circa 1861-65. Quinby served in USS Kearsarge during the Civil War, reportedly firing the first and last guns during her engagement with CSS Alabama on 19 June 1864.
Austin Quinby Austin's journal can be found at the Peabody Museum in Salem, MA  "Kearsarge Journal"

Photographed circa the 1880s or 1890s. As a U.S. Marine Corps Corporal, he served in USS Kearsarge during the Civil War, reportedly firing the first and last guns during her engagement with CSS Alabama on 19 June 1864. U.S. Naval Historical Center Photograph. 

USS Kearsarge (1862-1894)

"Survivors of the U.S.S. Kearsarge" -- Veterans of the Kearsarge's Civil War crew at a reunion, circa the 1890s. Those present are identified (as numbered) as: 1. Austin Quinby;  2. John Young; 3. Charles A. Poole; 4. William B. Poole ("was QM - at the Con June 19, 1864", during the battle with CSS Alabama. Awarded the Medal of Honor); 5. Joel Sanborn; 6. George Remick; 7. John F. Bickford (Awarded the Medal of Honor); 8. Adoniram Littlefield; 9. William Badlam (2nd Assistant Engineer in 1864); 10. Martin Hoyt; 11. Andrew J. Rowley; 12. John T. Stackpole;13. Patrick McKeever; 14. Lyman P. Spinney; 15. William Wainwright; 16. Lawrence T. Crowley; 17. True W. Priest; 18. J.O. Stone; and 19. John C. Woodberry.
"The unmarked are not veterans." U.S. Naval Historical Center Photograph.

Family Background: Austin Quinby, son of Alvah Quinby and Lucy Fellows Quinby born Mar. 5, 1838 in Sandwich Carroll County New Hampshire, USA He died Apr. 7, 1922 in Philadelphia Philadelphia County Pennsylvania, USA. He is buried Greenlawn Cemetery Salem, MA Alvah Quinby (picture below) born 1811 son of Moses Quinby (1767-1841) {son of Aaron Quinby (1733-1810) and Anne Hadley}and Dolly Atkins Quinby, (1777-1836). They had twelve children, seven of whom died in childhood. More info on children below Austin Quinby married Lucy Fellows (picture below) January 18 1835. More info Essex Institute Historical Collections, Volume 72 Picture of Alvah Quinby and Lucy Fellows Quinby 

Lucy Fellows Quinby
 More about Moses Quinby High Meadow Farm in Sandwich,NH Quinby Barn

Children of Alvah Quinby and Lucy:
Oraman Hanson Quinby 1836 – 1890
Austin Quinby 1838 –1922
Vestus Quinby 1841-
Annette Quinby  1843-1906
Ivory Quinby 1848
Eliza Frances Quinby1850 – 1876
Preston Quinby 1853 – 1901
Sherman Quinby 1857 – 1922

Picture of Annette Quinby Moulton and her husband Benjamin Franklin Phineas Moulton   

Benjamin & Annette named son Austin Quinby Moulton

Picture of Sherman Quinby 

John McAleer outside old homestead in Salem Ma Quinby home

More Historical Info & Documents on Quinby Line:  
From Alumni of Colby University Obituary Record from 1873 to 1877: Supplement No. 2 Including Notices of All Alumni Whose Decease Has Been Learned from July, 1873, to July, 1877 

Hosea Quinby died very suddenly " probably of heart disease," at Milton Mills, N.H., Oct. 11,1878, aged seventy-four years. The eighth of twelve children of Moses Quinby and Dolly Atkins, he was born in Sandwich, N. H., Aug. 25, 1804. Reared upon his father's farm, he entered in 1821, at the age of seventeen, New Hampton Literary and Theological Institution, then under its first President, Rev. B. F. Farnsworth (D.C., 1813), afterward President of Georgetown College, Kentucky. As soon as his education allowed he became a teacher of common schools, and gained wide reputation as a model teacher and disciplinarian. His preparatory studies were completed in 1828, but instead of entering college he accepted a tutorship for one year at New Hampton, and married. In the fall of 1829 he entered the Sophomore class of Waterville College, and graduated in due course.
He had, in 1824, made a profession of religion and joined the Freewill Baptist denomination, then chiefly confined in its membership and churches to the border of Maine and New Hampshire, where it originated through the efforts of Elder Benjamin Randall of New Durham, N. H., who in 1780 began to travel and gather societies. Mr. Quinby from the beginning of his connection with the Freewill Baptists became prominent and influential among them. In October, 1827, on the first organization of their General Conference at Tunbridge, Vt., he was chosen Clerk, and as such officiated till 1835. He was the first Freewill Baptist who received a college education, and on graduating was at once installed as Principal of the new Parsonsfield Seminary, Maine, the first institution of learning established by his denomination. Here he taught for seven years with abundant success, adding to his school labors those of a clergyman, having been ordained to the ministry in June, 1833. But as he was licensed in 1827, he had habitually preached throughout his college course, and it was in Waterville that he made his first essay as a writer for the press in a polemic of one hundred and sixty pages, entitled "Review of Butler's Letters" (by Rev. John Butler, then pastor at East Winthrop, afterward of North Yarmouth). In 1833, when the General Conference decided to issue a "Treatise of Faith and Usages," he, as member of a committee appointed for the purpose, prepared the original draft, which was adopted, and published in 1834. He also produced a small volume on Christian Baptism, and was for some years an editorial contributor to the denominational paper, the " Morning Star," published at Dover, N. H. He wrote several articles for the " Freewill Baptist Quarterly," and collected materials for a Life of Randall, which he did not live to complete.
On leaving Parsonsfield he was for one year from June, 1839, pastor of a church in Meredith, N. H. At the opening of Smithville Seminary, North Scituate, R. I. (now Lapham Institute), as'the best man the denomination could furnish, he was chosen Principal and served in that capacity, fourteen years, from October, 1840 till 1854. Here he led, as elsewhere, a most laborious life, teaching, having charge of the boarding and financial departments of the large school, and preaching every Sabbath.
He was subsequently settled in the pastorate at various places, viz.: a second time in Meredith, 1855-57; Pittsfield, N. H., 1857-61; Lebanon, Me., 1861-64; Lake Village, N. H., 1864-68. In all these places, besides preaching, he taught with great popularity and success. In 18C8, enfeebled by age and excessive labor, he purchased a home in Concord, N. H., where he laid aside the functions of teacher and preacher, except that for above two years, 1869-72, he resumed both while acting as Chaplain of New Hampshire State Prison. In October, 1872, he returned to the pastorate at Nottingham, N. H., where he remained till the close of 1874, and he was again settled in Pittsfield, January, 1875-76, and at Milton Mills, N. H., from April, 1876, until his death.
The circumstances of his death, as stated in the "Star," are as follows: "For several weeks he had been looking after work upon his church, preparatory to the Quarterly Meeting to be held there. The day he died he complained of illness, went, however, to the church as usual, and examined the work. Returning to his house, he took his seat by the stove, removed his boots, and put his feet on the stove-railing. A few moments after, his daughter in an adjoining room heard his feet fall suddenly on the floor and ran to his side; he gasped a few times and all was over."
Mr. Quinby married, May, 1828, Dorothea, daughter of Josiah Burleigh of his native town of Sandwich. She ditd in Concord about 1870. Of their five children, two sons and a daughter are living, the elder son being a physician in Memphis, Tenn., while the younger, Hosea Mason, a graduate of Brown University, class of 1865, and of Harvard Medical School, 1808, is settled in Worcester as Superintendent of the Massachusetts Asylum for the Chronic Insane. A series of twelve articles commemorative of the life and labors of Dr. Quinby, from the pen of Prof. J. ,T. Butler, appeared in successive numbers of the "Star," ending May 7, 1879. These, together with communications from the younger son and the daughter, from liev. Dr. E. E. Cummings, and Rev. I. D. Stewart of the " Star," have furnished materials for this notice. A few words from one of these sources will give the best idea of the character and influence of the man.
Says Rev. Mr. Stewart: "He more than any one man was active and wisely efficient in changing the tide of interest in the denomination in favor of education. His great humility, his excellent spirit, his great discretion and undoubted piety enabled him to do what no other man could have done, as ever)' person opposed to educational efforts believed in Hosea Quinby. He was the father of our educational interests, and none stood higher than he in the confidence of the people." He adds: "At the General Conference held at Lewiston'in 1865, his former pupils proposed to present him a genuine testimonial of their appreciation of his labors and personal worth, and about one thousand dollars was raised and given to him." In 1866 he received from his Alma Mater the degree of Doctor of Divinity. Hosea Quinby Book
Aaron Quinby, grandfather of the subject of this sketch, was a Captain in the war of the Revolution. At the close of his services he was paid in Continental currency before it had become utterly worthless. With this money he purchased some five hundred acres of wild land in Sandwich, and settling for life became founder of a useful and honored family. This estate was divided among his sons, and upon his portion of it Moses established his home, and here his son Hosea was born. Ivory Quinby, (Picture below) class of 1836, was a nephew of Hosea. (See Obituary Record, Supp. No. 2, p. 11.)

Ivory Quinby House
"United States Census, 1850"  

Sunday, March 2, 2014

Newburyport Woolen Company

From Towle Manufacturing Company, History of Newburyport & Scholfield Wool-Carding Machines

An industry inaugurated by Newburyport capital was located at the falls in Byfield. This was the Newburyport Woolen Company, established in 1794, the first company incorporated for that business in the state, and by some authorities named as the first woolen manufactory in America. The carding and other machines for its equipment were built by Standring, Guppy, & Armstrong, in Newburyport, being set up in "Lord" Timothy Dexter's stable; and were the first made in this country.

From Currier History of Newburyport Volume 2
January 29, 1794, Benjamin Greenleaf, Philip Aubin, William Bartlet, Richard Bartlet, Offin Boardman, jr., Moses Brown, David Coffin, William Coombs, John Coombs, Mark Fitz, Abel Greenleaf, John Greenleaf, Andrew Frothingham, Michael Hodge, Nicholas Johnson, Nathaniel Knapp, Peter Le Breton, Joseph Moulton, Theophilus Parsons, Ebenezer Wheelwright, Edward Wigglesworth and others were incorporated by the name of "The Proprietors of the Newburyport Woolen Manufactory."'

The company purchased about six acres of land, with a water privilege on the Parker river, in Byfield parish, Newbury, and erected a factory there, which was supplied with suitable machinery made by the Schofield Brothers and by Messrs. Guppy & Armstrong in Newburyport. It is said that the company was the first one incorporated for the manufacture of woolen goods in the United States.' The broadcloths, cassimeres, serges and blankets made there were sold by William Bartlet at his store in Newburyport. The business, however, was not financially successful, and Mr. Bartlet bought out the dissatisfied stockholders in 1803. Next year, he sold the property to John Lees, an Englishman, who converted it into a factory for the manufacture of cotton cloth.

The Above is from "Towle Book" A Newburyport philanthropist, Timothy Dexter, contributed the use of his stable. There, beginning in December 1793, the Scholfields built a 24-inch, single-cylinder, wool-carding machine. They completed it early in 1794, the first Scholfield wool-carding machine in America. The group was so impressed that they organized the Newburyport Woolen Manufactory. Arthur was hired as overseer of the carding and John as overseer of the weaving and also as company agent for the purchase of raw wool. A site was chosen on the Parker River in Byfield Parish, Newbury, where a building 100 feet long, about half as wide, and three stories high was constructed. To the new factory were moved the first carding machine, two double-carding machines, as well as spinning, weaving and fulling machines. The carding machines were built by Messrs. Standring, Armstrong, and Guppy, under the Scholfields' immediate direction. All the machinery with the exception of the looms was run by water-power; the weaving was done by hand. The enterprise was in full operation by 1795.

John and Arthur Scholfield (and John's 11-year-old son, James) worked at the Byfield factory for several years. During a wool-buying trip to Connecticut in 1798, John observed a valuable water-power site at the mouth of the Oxoboxo River, in the town (i.e., township) of Montville, Connecticut. Here, the brothers decided, would be a good place to set up their own mill, and on April 19, 1799, they signed a 14-year lease for the water site, a dwelling house, a shop, and 17 acres of land. As soon as arrangements could be completed, Arthur, John, and the latter's family left for Montville.

The Scholfields quite probably did not take any of the textile machinery from the Byfield factory with them to Connecticut—first because the machines were built while the brothers were under hire and so were the property of the sponsors, and second because their knowledge of how to build the machines would have made it unnecessary to incur the inconvenience and expense of transporting machines the hundred odd miles to Montville. However, John Scholfield's sons reported that they had taken a carding engine with them when they moved to Connecticut in 1799 and had later transferred it to a factory in Stonington. The sons claimed that the frame, cylinders, and lags of the machine were made of mahogany and that it had originally been imported from England. However, it would have been most uncommon for a textile machine, even an English one, to have been constructed of mahogany; and having built successful carding machines, the men at Byfield would have found it unnecessary to attempt the virtually impossible feat of importing an English one. If it ever existed and was taken to Connecticut, therefore, this machine was probably not a carding machine manufactured by the Scholfields. It is more probable that the first Scholfield carding machine remained in the Byfield mill as the property of the Newburyport Woolen Manufactory.