1903 Boston Globe Picture Hiram P Macintosh and Arthur P Huse
NEWBURYPORT’S CUSTOM HOUSE WHERE IT COST $5700 TO COLLECT $505 IN 5 YEARS Massachusetts has a port of entry at Newburyport, dignified with a custom house and collecting force, which in more than a score of years cost the federal government about $5700 to collect $505 in duties on imports.
Setting well down on the lowest bank of the Merrimack River and almost cut off from the business activity of the city of Newburyport, stands an old "stone fort,’* the custom house of the Ipswich district, which for years has remained as a monument to the city’s bygone prosperity, and is now a veritable millstone around the financial throat of Uncle Sam's internal revenue department. Grim, unwashed and almost forbidding In appearance on the outside, the federal building's purpose has become a memory of the past In the opinion
of Newburyporters, yet such is the system of Uncle Sam’s financial forces that the building must exist as an institution, so a collector and deputy remain in office to safeguard the coast against foreign goods being imported without official sanction.
So iron-bound and severe are the regulations of the Treasury Department that the life of the custom house must exist even if but a box of Newfoundland herring find entry on the book accounts in the course of a year. The utter uselessness of the custom house at this point on the Massachusetts famine, and the astounding arrival of 800 chests of tea from an English port, which were placed in bond, and so materially added to the revenue. Such a volume of business at the Newburyport custom house had not been known for a generation, and in consequence the Treasury Department fell but a few hundred dollars behind running expenses for that year.
From the time that the port of entry was established as a customs district in 1789, with Stephen Cross as collector, this official has been entitled to fees only, but his deputy has always received monthly warrants amounting to $600 a year. This is the actual expense charged against the duties collected at the port, still there has not been one year in 23 when the government realized a profit at the close of the fiscal year. In 23 years past the total collections at the port have been less than $3509, and during that period the expense for a deputy collector alone has been $13,800, which gives the cost of collecting each dollar at about $4. Another branch of the Treasury Department has been under a continual drain during that time, as the custodian of public buildings has paid out to Patrick J. Doyle his regular $540 a year salary as janitor of the granite relic of New bury port's past greatness. It appears almost farcical to continue the administration of such a treasury depleting institution of the government. It is one which lias amply proven that its usefulness has been outlived and buried with the disappearance of the good old oaken American “merchant marine” that flew the flag of the Union over waters of every sea and ocean in days of clipper ships and barks.
During the past six months, however coast is shown by the fact that during two schooners from the provinces loaded the years of 1819, 1900 and 1901 absolutely nothing dutiable came into the district. The year of 1902 was marked as a latter day epoch in the. history of the decayed port, as during this twelve months slightly more than $500 was collected in customs from four vessels laden with Nova Scotia coal, imported to relieve the coal Asthma One of the hardest tasks in life is to combine sentiment with business. river and contributed nearly to the collection credit of the custom house at the mouth of the Merrimack. If this astonishing volume of business continues at the same average for the next six months Uncle Sam’s treasury guardians at Washington may find an almost clear 1904 slate to he credited to the vigilance of Collector Macintosh and his deputy. Inside the stone fut the quietness of a. sepulcher reigns, except when an occasional visitor calls upon the venerable guardian of Uncle Sam’s structure. Scrupulous neatness prevails in the corridors, and unlike the tomb, a comfortable degree of heat pervades the building, all of which testifies to the certainty janitor at least finding the necessity of earning his $340 a year.
Samuel Phillips was the collector in 1835, and formally opened the granite building In 1830. It marked a new era for Newburyport. The imports coming to the mouth of the river were characteristic of every clime, and to hold the collector’s berth at that time was considered not only a position of sinecure, but also a post of the highest honor in the estimation of Newburyport best citizens. (see A Customhouse for Newburyport: (1834-1835) : Architect, Robert Mills, (1781-1855)
Customs duties In those days rarely fell below $75,000 rarely, and often exceeded the $100,000 mark, bringing $3000 yearly in fees to the collector, a limit which was established by law and still exists. Those were the days of plethoric poeketbooks among the descendants of Newburyport’s founders, and the very life forces of the community existence coursed through the collector’s offices and corridor of the old custom house. During the 15 years of activity between 1835 and 1889 Newburyport’s Federal building was the head and centre of all the town's industry. Through here passed the sugar, molasses, salt, foreign fish and alcohols that came in great bulk from the Canadian shores, Spain, tho West and East Indies, while Manila and the Philippines sent not a little hemp for local rope walks. Then the Ipswich district was rated second only to Boston among the New England custom houses and scores upon scores of vessels entered at the collector’s office weekly, creating an Interest among the townspeople that was only rivaled by their own endeavors toward success. The history of the past generation has broken away from the traditions of old Ipswich district, and woefully fallen are the duties of the present day collector. Day after day with the most perfect regularity the aged but active guardian of the district port opens up his office for business, ever hoping for hut seldom realizing the arrival of a dutiable cargo. In his antique furnished private office at Collector McIntosh passes his hours between 9 and 4 o’clock reading the current news and occasionally delving into the musty records of past and more creditable days at the custom house. In another room across the corridor the veteran Janitor Doyle spends a few hours each day after perfunctorily cleaning the two habitable offices and corridor, and with the exception of daily visits of a fern* hours made by the deputy collector, the great stone pile maintains the unearthly silence and solemnity of an abandoned ship cast up on a reef to remain until her structure falls apart of age. Severe and strict simplicity marks the disposal of all the rooms in the 'building, each one square, and just four of them, dividing the basement, first and second floors, while a generous slice is taken out of the left side of the building to provide for a stairway, which in itself is the most interesting and unique architectural feature of the interior. As shown in the accompanying cut, the turn of the block stone stairway to the second floor hall has the appearance of needing but a light blow to cause a collapse.
Each of these upper steps, 14 inches broad, lap but a bare half inch over the lower one, and are apparently held together with but a half inch thickness of cement. From Collector Macintosh's curious point of view, he cherishes this stairway as one of greatest show points of the noted building, but has found a man who explained to him the builders secret of twisted strain, which has so firmly joined these blocks of stone together as to preclude any possibility of their falling in the lapse of time already past. This much is certain, the handrail and newel posts can play no part in the support of the blocks, and as but four or five inches of the inner ends enter tho wall, unless some great strength is obtained from the outer ends the leverage of weight would serve to topple the steps to the floor below. It is the secret of twisted strain on the lapping edges that has worked this marvel. In one of the basement rooms shown in the picture are piled against the wall solid brass yards that served various methods of determining weights in the early days when Newburyport was noted as a most thriving community. The 20- pound counter balance weights seen on the floor, but now greatly depreciated by rust, were the silent telltales that brought floods of collections to the coffers of the collectors of former days. (below 15 Water Street taken from Historic Commission Newburyport 1999)
Undisturbed they have rested against the walls for more than a quarter of a century mute witnesses of bygone importations in days when the noted firm of John Wood & Son and their successors, Messrs. Sumner, Swasey & Currier, and afterwards Sumner, Swasey & Shaw, were the foremost importers of West Indian sugars, which were discharged and weighed at Commercial wharf. Measured buckets, used for inspection and levying of duties on salt, which for more than half a century, with sugar, formed the bulk of imports at the old town, are to be seen in the cut, and in unloading the vessels these authorized measures had to be used by the men discharging cargoes. The fiscal year, which ended in July, 1902. showed the receipt of $5 import duties, which cost the internal revenue department $600 to collect, and the custodians' department $549 to prepare a clean floor, heat and well dusted desk for the delivery and recording of the same. It is Just barely possible now that the financial receipts in the old building may become rehabilitated through the growing importance of the boxboard Haverhill, 12 miles up the river, to which point there are sure to be shipped other cargoes of wood pulp front the provinces during the coming spring and summer. Meanwhile Collector Macintosh will follow his Invariable rule of opening early, in order to be on hand and ready to certify to any unexpected cargo that strays into port. Since Mr. Macintosh assumed office in 1893 his fees have rarely exceeded $250 annually. Still he is the responsible head of a great district teeming with population, yet rut off seemingly forever from the rest of the world as a port of entry for foreign goods. Outside on Water street traffic is dead at all times of the day, although a busy square is but a quarter of a mile away from the custom house. Yet. so far as the “fort” is enlivened through this fact, it might be at the other end of the globe. Between the years 1850 and 1880 , when the greatest volume of business passed through the offices of the old building, salaries amounting to nearly $10,000 were paid to residents of the then town. Today less than $1200 is received for the upkeep of the dignity and cleanliness of tho custom house.
Visit Custom House Maritime Museum
Photos not taken from Globe Article are from Cape Ann Images
Genealogy Research, Family Stories and Photographs, Archival Resources, historical articles, antique origin,
Showing posts with label Custom House Maritime Museum. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Custom House Maritime Museum. Show all posts
Tuesday, May 26, 2015
Custom House Maritime Museum Newburyport 1903 Boston Globe
Thursday, October 30, 2014
Lieutenant Adolphus Washington Greely Newburyport and Arctic Exploration
Lieutenant Adolphus Washington Greely
The Greely Expedition English Subtitled Documentary
(March 27, 1844 – October 20, 1935) Born in Newburport Massachusetts American Polar explorer, United States Army officer, Recipient of the Medal of Honor. Two articles on Greeley
Disaster at Lady Franklin Bay US Naval Institute Sailing onward article from Newburyport News Dyke Henderson
An all-day celebration including a parade, reception, and fireworks, welcomed Adolphus Greely back home to Newburyport after his Lady Franklin Bay Arctic expedition. Arches, bearing appropriate mottoes, were placed across State Street, Prospect Street, and in front of City hall. The arch at the top of State Street is shown in this photograph. Displayed on either side are the names of the two ships, Thetis and Bear, that rescued the expedition's survivors. - Courtesy photoNewburyport Daily News
78 High Street Newburyport Land bought in 1807 by Anthony Davenport and the house built soon afterward, passing in 1838 to his daughter, Mrs. Samuel T. DeFord. It remained in this family until 1871 when bought by John A. Greeley, John Balch Greely and Frances Dunn Cobb and brother to Adolphus.
From History of Essex County Volume 2 edited by Duane Hamilton Hurd
Lieutenant Adolphus Washington Greely a native of the city followed by the public reception which was accorded him. As heroic and daring as were the deeds of the sons of Newburyport during the Revolution and the War of 1842 none exceeded the exploits of this young man who illustrated by his patience his fidelity his indomitable courage in the frozen regions of the North the lines of the poet that Peace hath her victories No less renowned than war It is doubtful whether in all the trying scenes through which our country has passed of fire and battle and flood the hearts of the American people have been touched by a tenderer sympathy or a sweeter joy than the discovery of that little band heroic men of which he was the devoted leader their gallant rescue excited.
Adolphus Washington Greely was born in Newburyport March 27 1844.
His early education obtained at the public schools Though fond study and ambitious to receive a collegiate education he was precluded from his wished for career by circumstances which it was impossible for him to control and at the age of seventeen he entered as clerk jewelry store of Fairbanks & Paul in his native city and seemed likely to pursue the devious and uncertain path of a business life.
Six months later however war broke out and among the volunteers for years service he was one of the earliest to his name He enlisted as private in the Byfield Rangers who were afterwards assigned as Company B to the Nineteenth Regiment of Massachusetts Volunteers under the command of Colonel Edward W Hincks.
Having speedily reached the position orderly sergeant he felt that he was worthy of a commission He was as brave as the bravest and never thought of danger in the performance of his duty Though immersed in the surroundings of war life it is significant both of his literary taste and utter fearlessness that on one occasion when going into a battle he was more concerned about the fate a scrap cut from a newspaper laid aside to be read than about the dangers of the contest which he was about to enter.......
The Greely Expedition to the North Pole, 01 June 1822.
Naval History & Heritage Command - Commander Winfield Schley was put in charge of the 1884 Greely Relief Expedition, which the Secretary of the Navy wholeheartedly embraced as an opportunity to buttress the sea service's standing in the public eye.
Discovery Harbour, Ellesmere Island, Quttinirpaaq National Park, Nunavut, Canada, skinning a seal. [Greely Expedition Photograph]
From Greely Expedition Survivors (cabinet card photograph) contributed by: Samuel B Sharpe
SOLEMN FUNERAL SERVICES AT GOVERNOR'S ISLAND AND CYPRESS HILLS
Great Anxiety for the Explorers-Their Chances of Obtaining Provisions
Arrival of the Arctic Heroes at Portsmouth, N. H. Extremely touching meeting, after the long separation, between Lieutenant Greely and his loving wife.
The Greely Arctic Expedition as Fully Narrated by Lieut. Greely and Other Survivors: Commander Schley's Report. Wonderful Discoveries by Lieut. Greeley and His Little Band of Heroes
The Greely Arctic expedition as fully narrated by Lieut. Greely, U.S.A., and other survivors. Full account of the terrible sufferings on the ice
Chances for Arctic Survival: Greely's Expedition Revisited
Elisha Kent Kane Historical SocietyAbandoned: The Story of the Greely Arctic Expedition 1881-1884
The Biggest Chill
William Henry Whistler and the Lady Franklin Bay (Greely) Expedition, 1881-1884: Published Accounts and Transcriptions of Whistler's Writings
Ghosts of Cape Sabine: The Harrowing True Story of the Greely Expedition
CHRISTMAS IN THE ARCTIC
Fire & Ice: Adolphus W. Greely
USNS General A.W. Greely
The Adolphus W. Greely Papers
Greely Expedition BS Series
The Greely Expedition English Subtitled Documentary
(March 27, 1844 – October 20, 1935) Born in Newburport Massachusetts American Polar explorer, United States Army officer, Recipient of the Medal of Honor. Two articles on Greeley
Disaster at Lady Franklin Bay US Naval Institute Sailing onward article from Newburyport News Dyke Henderson
![]() |
Naval History Magazine - August 2010 Volume 24, Number 4 |
An all-day celebration including a parade, reception, and fireworks, welcomed Adolphus Greely back home to Newburyport after his Lady Franklin Bay Arctic expedition. Arches, bearing appropriate mottoes, were placed across State Street, Prospect Street, and in front of City hall. The arch at the top of State Street is shown in this photograph. Displayed on either side are the names of the two ships, Thetis and Bear, that rescued the expedition's survivors. - Courtesy photoNewburyport Daily News
![]() |
From Custom House Maritime Museum Newburyport MA |
Prospect Street Home where Adolphus was born |
![]() |
Alolophus with family 1887 |
78 High Street Newburyport Land bought in 1807 by Anthony Davenport and the house built soon afterward, passing in 1838 to his daughter, Mrs. Samuel T. DeFord. It remained in this family until 1871 when bought by John A. Greeley, John Balch Greely and Frances Dunn Cobb and brother to Adolphus.
From History of Essex County Volume 2 edited by Duane Hamilton Hurd
Lieutenant Adolphus Washington Greely a native of the city followed by the public reception which was accorded him. As heroic and daring as were the deeds of the sons of Newburyport during the Revolution and the War of 1842 none exceeded the exploits of this young man who illustrated by his patience his fidelity his indomitable courage in the frozen regions of the North the lines of the poet that Peace hath her victories No less renowned than war It is doubtful whether in all the trying scenes through which our country has passed of fire and battle and flood the hearts of the American people have been touched by a tenderer sympathy or a sweeter joy than the discovery of that little band heroic men of which he was the devoted leader their gallant rescue excited.
Adolphus Washington Greely was born in Newburyport March 27 1844.
His early education obtained at the public schools Though fond study and ambitious to receive a collegiate education he was precluded from his wished for career by circumstances which it was impossible for him to control and at the age of seventeen he entered as clerk jewelry store of Fairbanks & Paul in his native city and seemed likely to pursue the devious and uncertain path of a business life.
Six months later however war broke out and among the volunteers for years service he was one of the earliest to his name He enlisted as private in the Byfield Rangers who were afterwards assigned as Company B to the Nineteenth Regiment of Massachusetts Volunteers under the command of Colonel Edward W Hincks.
Having speedily reached the position orderly sergeant he felt that he was worthy of a commission He was as brave as the bravest and never thought of danger in the performance of his duty Though immersed in the surroundings of war life it is significant both of his literary taste and utter fearlessness that on one occasion when going into a battle he was more concerned about the fate a scrap cut from a newspaper laid aside to be read than about the dangers of the contest which he was about to enter.......
The Greely Expedition to the North Pole, 01 June 1822.
![]() |
![]() |
The Crew Greely Expedition National Archives |
Discovery Harbour, Ellesmere Island, Quttinirpaaq National Park, Nunavut, Canada, skinning a seal. [Greely Expedition Photograph]
![]() |
Lt. Edward Israel, from Greely Expedition photo, 1881. |
![]() | |
From James Booth Lockwood (1852 -1884) "The Greeley Arctic Exploration Exhibit, Government Building World's Fair, Chicago, USA" |
From Greely Expedition Survivors (cabinet card photograph) contributed by: Samuel B Sharpe
SOLEMN FUNERAL SERVICES AT GOVERNOR'S ISLAND AND CYPRESS HILLS
Great Anxiety for the Explorers-Their Chances of Obtaining Provisions
Arrival of the Arctic Heroes at Portsmouth, N. H. Extremely touching meeting, after the long separation, between Lieutenant Greely and his loving wife.
The Greely Arctic Expedition as Fully Narrated by Lieut. Greely and Other Survivors: Commander Schley's Report. Wonderful Discoveries by Lieut. Greeley and His Little Band of Heroes
The Greely Arctic expedition as fully narrated by Lieut. Greely, U.S.A., and other survivors. Full account of the terrible sufferings on the ice
Chances for Arctic Survival: Greely's Expedition Revisited
Elisha Kent Kane Historical SocietyAbandoned: The Story of the Greely Arctic Expedition 1881-1884
The Biggest Chill
William Henry Whistler and the Lady Franklin Bay (Greely) Expedition, 1881-1884: Published Accounts and Transcriptions of Whistler's Writings
Ghosts of Cape Sabine: The Harrowing True Story of the Greely Expedition
CHRISTMAS IN THE ARCTIC
Fire & Ice: Adolphus W. Greely
USNS General A.W. Greely
The Adolphus W. Greely Papers
Greely Expedition BS Series

Labels:
Adolphus Washington Greely,
Arctic Explorations,
Custom House Maritime Museum,
Elison,
Greely Expedition,
Israel,
Lady Franklin Bay,
Lockwood,
Newburport News,
Newburyport Ma,
Pavy,
PBS,
Schley
Location:
Newburyport, MA, USA
Thursday, October 16, 2014
The Unveiling of the USS Kearsarge Captain Cabin Desk John J. McAleer III Speech
A Big Thanks to John and Andy McAleer for sharing this. I met them in Salem Ma last Spring and they were so gracious and generous to share their family history with me and all the treasure trove of these great heroes and their descendents. See also the first blog share I posted last Spring Austn Quinby & USS Kearsarge John J. McAleer, III Union League Club Philadelphia 23 July 2014
In May John and his brother Andy went to Philadelphia to donate a desk from the Kearsarge Society that was in Captain Winslow's ship cabin. They went down again in July to formally donate it. This is a copy of John's speech in front of Admiral Lynch (former head of Annapolis ) and Lt. Colonel Ralph Peters.
The story below is from George Costopulos Auctioneers located at 9 Cerqua St.Woburn, MA 01801 Andrew McAleer & John J McAleer the lll are two gents who currently live in Lexington ma. They come from a long military family history, their great grandfather John J. McAleer served on the USS Kearsarge as an orderly to Captain Winslow. He also kept the log book of the Kearsarge for it's 34- month cruise. He wrote the log on Captain Winslow desk. The same desk that was present in the Captain quarters during the battle with the Alabama on June 11, 1864. (As a side note this June 11th 2014 will be the 150 anniversary of this important battle.) This was the story they always heard growing up and took great pride in having this historic desk.
John J. McAleer lll inherited the desk from his dad John J McAleer ll who acquired the desk in 1925 from his uncle Billy, John William McAleer, who was the oldest son of John J. McAleer, orderly to Captain Winslow. In the desk there has for the last ninety year a letter that stated "This desk came from the Captain’s cabin of the Civil War Craft Kearsarge. It was bought at the auction of some of her (Kearsarge) fittings on the return to Boston, after the fight with the Alabama, by the father of T. Julian (sic) Silsby, 50 Congress Street Boston and later given to John Dixwell MD 52 Cedar St Boston and by him June 16, 1925 given to Wm. McAleer of Fairfield St Cambridge Mass." This is the story that the two brothers had heard growing up and there was much fact to back this story. They had the oral history along with photos, medals and paper documents to back this story up. But how did the desk get to uncle Billy and who was Dr. Dixwell, T. Julian Silby and the father of T. Julian Silby who are mentioned in the letter.
The Kearsarge, after the battle with the Alabama and other duties, cruised into Boston harbor at one o'clock in the morning on November 8th for much needed repairs. Thousands of New Englanders turned out for the Kearsarge home coming. After all the Kearsarge was named after New Hampshire's Mt Kearsarge and the ship was built from the timber surrounding Mt. Kearsarge and her crew were mostly New Englanders. The ship was temporarily decommissioned for repairs. The questioned remained, were T. Julian Silby, his father and Dr Dixwell real historical figures? It turns out after much research that T. Julien Silsby and Father Thomas J. Silsby owned a cordage company in South Boston, (Thomas J. Silsby & Son) who did this kind of ship repair work. It stands to reason that father Silsby could have acquired the desk at an auction of the Kearsarge fittings and passed it to his son T. Julian Silby, who according to the letter passed it on or sold the desk to Dr. Dixwell. Is Dr Dixwell a real historical figure? It turn out that he is real and held a prominent position in Boston & Kearsarge history. After the veterans of the Kearsarge were finished with their service the survivors gathered for many reunions and enjoyed accolades from across New England. They were treated as heroes for man, many years. John J. McAleer was very active in serving the veterans & survivors of the Kearsarge . He served as president & secretary to these meeting until his passing. His son John William McAleer “Uncle Bill” in the 1920s served as Secretary of Kearsarge Naval Veterans Association (“KNVA”) and attended annual Kearsarge Survivor meetings documenting dates and attendees.He lived at 26 Fairfield Street in Cambridge, Massachusetts with nephew John J. McAleer, II. In addition, he was a friend and colleague of John Dixwell, MD in the KNVA. Dr. John Dixwell was a Boston Surgeon born in Cambridge, Massachusetts on March 21, 1844. A graduate of the Latin School, Harvard, and Harvard Medical School, Dr. Dixwell served as a President and Surgeon of the Kearsarge Naval Veterans Association, member of Post No. 13, G.A.R., and G.A.R. Club of Massachusetts. He frequently appeared in Boston newspapers concerning his work with the Kearsarge and her survivors. This is the connection between William McAleer (Uncle Billy) and Dr Dixwell. As the provenance letter states, Dr. Dixwell gave the desk to “Wm McAleer Fairfield Street, Cambridge, Mass on June 16, 1925.” Three days before the 61st anniversary of the great battle. William McAleer in turn gave the desk to John J. McAleer, II, who in turn gave it to John J. McAleer, III.
Along with The Kearsarge desk all the reunion Photos with all the names on the back for identification and the letter of succession to the present owner and a few others provided by private families I have included
John A. Winslow (3d from left) and officers on board the U.S.S. Kearsarge after sinking the C.S.S. Alabama, 1864.
USS Kearsarge (1862-1894)
"Survivors of the U.S.S. Kearsarge" -- Veterans of the Kearsarge's Civil War crew at a reunion, circa the 1890s. Those present are identified (as numbered) as:
1. Austin Quinby; 2. John Young; 3. Charles A. Poole; 4. William B. Poole ("was QM - at the Con June 19, 1864", during the battle with CSS Alabama. Awarded the Medal of Honor); 5. Joel Sanborn; 6. George Remick; 7. John F. Bickford (Awarded the Medal of Honor); 8. Adoniram Littlefield; 9. William Badlam (2nd Assistant Engineer in 1864); 10. Martin Hoyt; 11. Andrew J. Rowley;
12. John T. Stackpole;13. Patrick McKeever; 14. Lyman P. Spinney; 15. William Wainwright; 16. Lawrence T. Crowley; 17. True W. Priest; 18. J.O. Stone; and 19. John C. Woodberry. "The unmarked are not veterans." U.S. Naval Historical Center Photograph.
See also Newburyport and the Civil War by William Hallett Bill Hallett and his wife Elizabeth, host “Footsteps of Heroes: Civil War Walking Tours of Newburyport” and are actively involved in the Civil War Roundtable.
To order book contact Bill Hallett Also in Newburyport visit Custom House Maritime Museum
Acting Master Eben M. Stoddard (left) and Chief Engineer William H. Cushman.
From Article Boston Globe by Virginia Bohlin
Antiques & Collectibles: Relics of war and musical instruments
In May John and his brother Andy went to Philadelphia to donate a desk from the Kearsarge Society that was in Captain Winslow's ship cabin. They went down again in July to formally donate it. This is a copy of John's speech in front of Admiral Lynch (former head of Annapolis ) and Lt. Colonel Ralph Peters.
On the Ocassion of the Unveiling of the USS Kearsarge's Captain's Cabin Desk
It is hard to believe, but thirty years ago this summer I was training to become a United States Marine down at Paris Island. My father wrote me at the time and told of how President Reagan was going to Mainland China. The press pulled Secretary of State George Shultz aside and asked if this was the first time the President has visited a Communist country?
History is all around us. I hope this desk and its history will be enjoyed by future generations.
It is hard to believe, but thirty years ago this summer I was training to become a United States Marine down at Paris Island. My father wrote me at the time and told of how President Reagan was going to Mainland China. The press pulled Secretary of State George Shultz aside and asked if this was the first time the President has visited a Communist country?
Without hesitation the Secretary responded, " Well he has been to Massachusetts ".
If the truth be told, Massachusetts and New England played a major part in the events that lead up to the Civil War. The Abolitionist movement; Harriet Beecher Stowe's novel Uncle Tom's Cabin ; John Brown did much of his fund rising throughout New England ( Ralph Waldo Emerson was an early supporter but became disillusioned with Brown after Harper's Ferry ); Daniel Webster was instrumental in the passing of the Missouri Compromise.
Other events such as the Dred Scott decision; Bloody Kansas; and the Lincoln/Douglas debate helped ignite the inevitable.
In New England the navy warships were built. The USS Kearsarge was named after Mt. Kearsarge in New Hampshire that supplied the timber for her existence. It was launched from the naval shipyard in Portsmouth, New Hampshire.
The south converted cargo ships into raiders, however the CSS Alabama and CSS Florida were purchased in England under the guise of being merchant ships.
This past Monday was the 153rd anniversary of the first battle of "Bull Run". July 3rd marked the 151st anniversary of the northern victories at both Gettysburg and Vicksburg. Two weeks shy of a year later the USS Kearsarge and CSS Alabama faced off each other outside the port of Cherbourg, France. By then the international community recognized the Confederacy was losing its fight for independence.
It is believed that Captain Raphael Semmes, in command of the CSS Alabama, felt a victory over the USS Kearsarge would lift Southern Morale. Of the three major naval battles of the Civil War this was the most exciting.
On January 11, 1863 the CSS Alabama defeated an inferior ship, the USS Hatteras in the Gulf of Mexico. Ironically Captain Semmes accused the USS Keararge of cheating because it used chain armor alongside the ship's exterior. However 2nd Lt Arthur Sinclair, of the CSS Alabama, said Captain Semmes was well aware of this fact before the battle.
If the truth be told Captain John Winslow, of the USS Kearsarge, had a well trained and disciplined crew. The Alabama was made up of sailors from around the world. It fired many shots at the Kearsarge, but it was clear that the quality of the shells were effected from the storage in between the engine room and the water distiller, causing the magazines to be ruined by humidity.
After the battle Semmes and fourteen officers from the Alabama escaped on the British yacht
" Deerhound ", including R. K. Howell, the brother-in-law of Jefferson Davis.
To have had a family member witness this moment has always been a source of pride for my father, brothers and myself. When my brother Andrew and I visited in May we walked around " Independence Hall ". There was a group of retired men walking around with their wives wearing 402nd Tanker Division hats. It was clear they were proud of their military service, and it was even more clear talking to them that their enlistment helped shape their character and make them the men they became.
The next day Andrew and I went to Lancaster county and stopped into a store named after President Lincoln's secretary, John Hay, who later served as Secretary of State for both President McKinley and Roosevelt. On the way out we talked to a man wearing a Navy Sea Bee's hat. He served as an officer for twenty years. When I mentioned that Andrew served in Afghanistan as a combat historian, his face lit up and he said, " My dad was a photographer during World War II and was responsible for taking the pictures at Nagasaki ".
The story below is from George Costopulos Auctioneers located at 9 Cerqua St.Woburn, MA 01801 Andrew McAleer & John J McAleer the lll are two gents who currently live in Lexington ma. They come from a long military family history, their great grandfather John J. McAleer served on the USS Kearsarge as an orderly to Captain Winslow. He also kept the log book of the Kearsarge for it's 34- month cruise. He wrote the log on Captain Winslow desk. The same desk that was present in the Captain quarters during the battle with the Alabama on June 11, 1864. (As a side note this June 11th 2014 will be the 150 anniversary of this important battle.) This was the story they always heard growing up and took great pride in having this historic desk.
![]() |
Hand Colored & pained picture of John J. Mcaleer around 1863 |
![]() |
Civil War cased tintype of a McAleer relative |
![]() |
John McAleer outside old homestead in Salem Ma Quinby home |
Along with The Kearsarge desk all the reunion Photos with all the names on the back for identification and the letter of succession to the present owner and a few others provided by private families I have included
![]() |
John C. Hayes Coxswain U.S.S. Kearsarge |
John A. Winslow (3d from left) and officers on board the U.S.S. Kearsarge after sinking the C.S.S. Alabama, 1864.
USS Kearsarge (1862-1894)
"Survivors of the U.S.S. Kearsarge" -- Veterans of the Kearsarge's Civil War crew at a reunion, circa the 1890s. Those present are identified (as numbered) as:
1. Austin Quinby; 2. John Young; 3. Charles A. Poole; 4. William B. Poole ("was QM - at the Con June 19, 1864", during the battle with CSS Alabama. Awarded the Medal of Honor); 5. Joel Sanborn; 6. George Remick; 7. John F. Bickford (Awarded the Medal of Honor); 8. Adoniram Littlefield; 9. William Badlam (2nd Assistant Engineer in 1864); 10. Martin Hoyt; 11. Andrew J. Rowley;
12. John T. Stackpole;13. Patrick McKeever; 14. Lyman P. Spinney; 15. William Wainwright; 16. Lawrence T. Crowley; 17. True W. Priest; 18. J.O. Stone; and 19. John C. Woodberry. "The unmarked are not veterans." U.S. Naval Historical Center Photograph.
See also Newburyport and the Civil War by William Hallett Bill Hallett and his wife Elizabeth, host “Footsteps of Heroes: Civil War Walking Tours of Newburyport” and are actively involved in the Civil War Roundtable.
To order book contact Bill Hallett Also in Newburyport visit Custom House Maritime Museum
Acting Master Eben M. Stoddard (left) and Chief Engineer William H. Cushman.
From Article Boston Globe by Virginia Bohlin
Antiques & Collectibles: Relics of war and musical instruments
The Civil War relic is the desk from the captain’s cabin of the famed USS Kearsarge that will be offered at the George Costopulos estates auction next Sunday at 2 p.m. at Sons of Italy Hall, 168 Lexington St., Woburn.
The 201-foot steam and sail sloop, which was built in 1861 at the Portsmouth (N.H.) Navy Yard and named for New Hampshire’s Mount Kearsarge, became famous when in a one-hour and 20-minute battle on June 19, 1864, off the coast at Cherbourg, France, it sank the Alabama, the most successful Confederate raider of the war.
The desk has been consigned by John J. McAleer III of Lexington, whose great-grandfather Private John J. McAleer of Cambridge served as orderly to the Kearsarge’s commander, Captain John A. Winslow (1811-73) of Boston. Winslow, who retired from the Navy as a rear admiral, is buried at Forest Hills Cemetery with a boulder from Mount Kearsarge at the head of his grave.
The desk was given in the 1990s to the consignor by his father, John J. McAleer II (1923-2003) of Cambridge, a professor at Harvard and Boston colleges for more than a half-century, who had been given the desk in the 1940s by his uncle John William McAleer, the eldest son of Private McAleer.
A letter of provenance is included, written on June 26, 1925, noting that the desk was purchased by Thomas J. Silsby, a Boston manufacturer of cordage machinery, at an auction of Kearsarge fittings when the ship returned to Boston in November 1864 for repairs.
The desk was later acquired by Dr. John Dixwell, a Boston surgeon, who served as president of the Kearsarge Naval Veterans Association, and who in 1925 gave the desk to the association’s secretary John William McAleer.
The desk will be sold with documents, photographs, Kearsarge fittings, and other Kearsage memorabilia.
For more information, go to www.georgecoestatesales.com.
THOMAS J. SILSBY & SON, as recorded in Commerce, Manufactures & Resources of Boston, Mass: A Historical, Statistical & Descriptive Review
Manufacturers Of Cordage Machinery, Broadway Bridge, South Boston. Of those industries which bear an important part in the growth and prosperity of Boston, that conducted by Messrs. Thomas J. Silsby &: Son may be regarded as a prominent one. This house was established in 1854 by Messrs. Moore & Wood worth, who were succeeded .by Isaac B. Rich, and he, in turn, by Silsby & Cheney, who conducted the business for fifteen years previous to 1880, when the present firm became proprietors of the plant. Since the accession of the senior member of the firm to the head of this house, its business has been largely increased, and its influence for good extended throughout a w ide territory. Being an expert and practical mechanic, Mr. Silsby devoted himself with ardor to the production of machinery which should be equal at least to any made either at home or abn ad, and vie in excellence with all. That his firm succeeded in this object is no matter of doubt; and the excellence they attained in the production of their specialties was such as to have created a demand from the nearest, as well as the most remote points of the United States, Canadas, Great Britain, and other foreign countries.The plant of this house occupies a floorage area of about 12,000 square feet. Thirty operathes, exerts in the manufacture of machinery, are engaged ere; while the machinery and tools in use are of the latest improved designs. The principal products of this house, and those for which it has become so widely celebrated, are for the manufacture of Coticn, Hemp, and Manila Rope, and for the preparation of the raw materials used in the manufacture. This machinery is in many respects novel, ingenious, ar.d unique: and some of it is made by them only. It includes Woodworth's Patent Rope Laying and Banding Machines, John Good's Patent Spreaders, for preparing hemp, flax, and manila; Drawing-Fratr.es, Spinning-Jennies, Forming and Laying Machines. The Rope-laying Machines made here are the onlv ones made in this country. As before remarked, the workmanship of these products may be implicitly relied on. They are strongly made, are durable, and work with the tiimost precision. The firm also manufacture and supply new and improved Pistons and Packing for Steam-Kngines, Pumps, etc., and make a specialty of boring steamcylinders and Corliss valve-seats, without removal from the bed-plates. The individual members of the firm are Messrs. Thomas J. Silsby and T. Julien Silsby, both of whom may be said, through their house, to be thoroughly identified with the advancement of the industrial rmerests of Boston.
The standing of this house is so well known as to need no commendation at our hands: suffice it to say, that, in a career extending over so long a period, it has maintained a reputation of which its proprietors may justly feel proud, and for which it is entitled to the highest esteem and consideration.
Labels:
Captain Cabin Desk,
Cheney,
Civil War,
Cushman,
Custom House Maritime Museum,
Dixwell,
Hallet,
Hayes,
Hobson,
Houghton,
John McAleer,
Newburyort MA,
Quimby,
Remick,
Rich,
Silby,
Stoddard,
USS Kearsarge,
Winslow
Subscribe to:
Posts (Atom)